Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Hello,

    I am planning on buying the BU0836X shortly, to replace my 'non x version' that I sold.

    I would like to make a NAV / COM radio using the panel I have designed.

    I would like it to work like the desktop aviator NAV / COM but using my own panel, as I plan to incorporate an LCD Screen into it using FS LCD through a parallel port, and my panel is only 6 1/4 inches wide like a real Bendix radio as compared to the DA radio which is 8 inches.

    http://www.desktopaviator.com/Produc...2010/index.htm

    Looking at the Desktop Aviator panel, it incorporates 2 rotary encoders, 2 standby push buttons and 2 flip switch toggles for MHZ & KHZ.

    What encoders do I need, and how would I wire it up to function as a radio.

    I am guessing:

    INPUT 1 = STANDBY
    INPUT 2 = STANDBY 2
    INPUT 3 & 4 = ENCODER UP DOWN
    INPUT 5 & 6 = ENCODER 2 UP AND DOWN

    But how do I wire up the flip switch toggle so that I can select MHZ and KHZ using the same encoder on each side?

    Am I thinking on the right track on making a radio, surely this shouldn't be too hard?

    Cheers for all your help.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Hi Alex,
    This might not be helpful, but I don't think you can do that. The reason is that you assign the encoders directly to their respective functions from the BU card. I've had a look at this for my radios-to-be. I'm sure someone else will tell me why I am wrong!

    Two possible solutions - Leo is now selling dual encoders on his (temporarily offline) site for about 18 each. The other solution which I've tested is to have Mhz assigned to clockwise and khz to anti-clockwise. Not ideal, but I know this works! I was going to do it that way until I saw the dual encoders from Leo.

    I kicked myself for being an idiot as I've been looking for them everywhere for ages, and then I saw them on Leo's and thought "dammit! They were there all the time! " But they weren't - they are a recent addition. Funny story? No, I guess not.....!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Hi Nigel,

    Cheers for the advice, to be honest there isn't no cheaper way of making a simple radio that does so little.

    But 2 of leo's encoders @ 18 each is 36 plus 50 for the BU0836 still comes to a few quid.....

    Maybe DA's option is the best and cheapest all along!

    If I buy one, I'll rip it apart and let you know how it's wired!

    All the best!

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  4. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    knowing the owner of DA well and also owning one of just about all the panels he sells i have the radio panel. What i'll do for you is take it apart for you and take a picture and post for you tomorrow. The rotaries are simply a series of microbuttons in effect and each increment on the turn of the rotary can be programmed separately if that makes any sense.

    I've got some other pictures to upload from cosford tomorrow so i'll do it for you within the 24 hour mark for you if that helps.
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  5. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    I think Niget to be correct, since we assign the function of the rotaries directly with the Bodnar card, changing function during flight does not seem like it would work.

    I did see something like this in a nother post here some time ago.. the idea was to wire a single rotary to 2 sets of pins, that is 2 "pairs" on the card, then the ground of each pair went to 2 poles on a simple switch, with the common on the switch going to ground on the rotary. When the switch is in position 1, the rotary would have a ground reference that could trigger pulses to the card inputs for 1 control (like Mhz), when in position 2 the card would have a ground foe the other pins. It seems like this would work as long as the inputs do not share a common ground.

    I never tried it but depending on how the bodnar card designed (and it seems very robust) it might work.

    Another route is the dual rotary from cockpitsonicUSA. I have tested this dual rotary encoder with my Bodnar card and works very well. As a matter of fact, that's what I used it for when I tested, tuning NAV1.

    Hope this helps..

    BuddyM

  7. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  8. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    hi alex......
    ian to the rescue again.........
    ok, this is how to do it. two options here...you either use a dual rotary encoder 1 for Mhz and one for Khz and the push switch as the toggle between Com1 & Com2.
    or the 'cheap' way is to use 1 cheap Sure Electronics encoder thru a DPDT switch.
    this way you will use 2 button pairs on the card.

    you need to connect the common on the encoder to a gnd input on the card. then the two other connections are soldered to the common on each side of the switch. connect 4 wires to the outputs on the switch and connect these to two seperate button pairs on BU0836X. you then assign the one set to Mhz + & - and Khz + & -.
    throwing the switch one way will increase/decrease Mhz and the other way the Khz will get changed. you can use the push switch again as your toggle.

    if you get in trouble, mail me and i'll see if i have an old encoder in the workshop to do the job for you.

    good luck matey. rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  9. Thanks NigelD, AlexJ thanked for this post
  10. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    hello alex........
    you lucky, lucky boy
    i've just been down to the workshop and in my box of bits, i have an alps dual rotary encoder that i used for something (can't remember what). it's all wired up except the push switch. but i'm sure you can sort that
    it'll be in the mail to you next time i go out. you'll have to sort the knobs.
    hope that gets you out of a spot.
    rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  11. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  12. #8
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Sir Ian.....

    Reading your explanation makes perfect sence, i'm pretty sure I can work something out! Secretly I knew you would come to my rescue with a solution!
    You always do!

    I think you have atleast a 30% Share in my sim now! Superb!, the next thing you'll want is to stick ''737ng.co.uk'' stickers over my MIP as advertising! LOL , (......plus a UPS account!)

    Ian....simply smashing!!!!

    I might pick your brain when it arrives!!!

    Nice one Sir Ian and Gez!!!

    Kind Regard!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  13. #9
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Hello Sir Ian.....

    I have tried to understand your second method / the cheap way of wiring up the radio using a flip switch and encoder!

    I have come up with this:



    Does this look right?

    Cheers,

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  14. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Re: Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!

    Hi Guys i recently Bought some Dual Encoders from Cockpitsonic USA and they were a great price you may wanna have a look at there product ...not affliated with them just thought they were excellent value for money and shipping to the UK was Very reasonable..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Choices: Saitek radio panel or GoFlight Radio Panel...
    By Tim Abbott in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 02:43 AM
  2. Making a NAV / COM Radio Help Needed!
    By AlexJ in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 03:21 PM
  3. How would i go about making my own CDU/FMC
    By Geremy Britton in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-11-2009, 03:36 PM
  4. Making a radio stack using Flightdeck technolgy
    By flytui in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 02:37 AM