Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    EDDH
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    Hi,

    as a spin-off from my cockpit project I have developed an interface chip that converts rotary encoder signals to something easier to use.

    Rotary encoders usually come with a quadrature output that is difficult to interface to other platforms.

    My solution is a small DIP-8 microprocessor that is connected to the two outputs of the encoder (no external pullups required). The internal logic converts the quadrature input data to three outputs:
    - /CLK = active low for 1 ms when the encoder was turned in either direction
    - UP = active high for 1 ms when the encoder was turned right
    - DOWN = active high for 1 ms when the encoder was turned left

    E.g. a counter unit can much easier process the /CLK, UP and DOWN signals to control a frequency, heading, altitude selector etc.

    Interface is between 1.8V and 5V, fully CMOS or TTL compatible. A block capacitor of 100 nF is recommended close to the VCC terminal.

    I can make the chip available for private use if there is sufficient interest to burn a couple of them. Price would be around 5€ per piece, in quantities less, p&p to be added.

    Please drop me a pm or post below if you are interested.

    Andy

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member nricky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    Hi Andy

    That sounds great. The best voltage would be 5 Volts. How would you guess in how much the will cost and for how many encoders it will run.

    Please tell us more. Great idea.

    Cheers Norbert

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    hmmm.... now this sounds interesting...
    i'd also like to know a bit more about this too. can you go into a little more detail about what you have achieved using this chip.
    thanks in advance and regards ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    EDDH
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    Hello,

    I have used the chips to poll four encoders through an old notebook's parallel interface. The chip converts the encoders quadrature phase output to a DN and UP signal. When DN or UP is seen high on the parallel interface the notebook increases/decreases COM1/2 frequencies (Data are then sent out via ethernet, but that's another story).

    So basically you can use any computer or microcomputer board that can poll or react to an interrupt to process the encoder output without any weird logic like monoflops or so.

    For the complete parallel interface in the example it needs four encoders and four chips, i.e. it needs on chip per encoder.

    We can easily adjust the output signals according to your needs by software. For now 1ms pulses were sufficent, but we can go for 10 ms or invert the signal or do any other scheme.

    You can use any voltage between 1.8V and 5V.

    I will develop some more complete documentation and sample drawings and post it here as soon as I can.

    For quantities over 20 I would think the price is half, over 50 even less. It depends how cheap I can get the basic chip.

    Another option by the way is the spin warrior USB converter chip. But this was too expensive for me.
    http://www.codemercs.com/index.php?id=43&L=1

    Andy

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    Chinese to me...but could this be used to drive dummy Flight alt and Land alt displays.

    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    jack.....
    this is exactly what i have in mind ))
    good one...rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    EDDH
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder/UP DOWN converter

    Can you point me to what's inside these dummy units?

    Any reference docs available?

    Thanks
    Andy

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?
    By shoumi in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 09:48 PM
  2. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  3. another rotary encoder question
    By stabell in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-14-2008, 12:01 PM
  4. New Rotary Encoder Board available
    By ddimm in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 02:32 PM