Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Open Cockpits MCP Please Help.

Hi,

I'm new to this cockpit building stuff,so go easy please. I want to build an MCP using the Open Cockpits boards. My question is will these work for any aircraft i.e. FSX default 737, Level D 767, PMDG 747-400 and the soon to be PMDG 737? Another question i have are how easy are these boards to work with and how do you rate the service from Open Cockpits?

Thats all for now

Many thanks

Brendan

2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar

Re: Open Cockpits MCP Please Help.

Hi Brendan.. Welcome to the Hobby.

Asking that question is like saying, I want to buy a mo-ped can I drive it on any road....? Sure you can drive the moped on most roads, but it may not work too well on a mud filled road in the rain.

OC cards run on SIOC Script. You program them for the aircraft you want to fly. Some people here use those cards with some of the aircraft you mentioned. as far as I know the PMDG 747 is *NOT* compatible with anyones hardware. SOme people use the PMDG 737, and the Level D is pretty compatible with most things.. but you can't say it will be or is compatible with every aircraft on the market.

Trev

Cheers for the reply Trev. I like the analogy, clears things up a bit.This business about programming the boards for your aircraft, if i had the same setup as someone and the same plane, could i use their settings if they sent them to me, or is it not that simple?If that is possible is it easy to get hold of the required files, e.g. are people forthcoming with them in this community or not?

Thanks Again
    Brendan

Boeing 777 Builder

Hi Brendan,