Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member mattford1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Hi Guys-

    Looks like one of my slide pots is going out and am toying with the idea of using string potentiometers. Anyone used one?

    Thanks,
    Matt

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Matt, there's been discussion here regarding string pots and where to buy them. Even how to make them

    Keep lighting the world Matt, you do a good job of it

    Matt Olieman

  3. Thanks mattford1 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Matt here is a short thread on mine;http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ght=string+pot And Gallie (Mike) also built a set. I think John Combs has a commercial set.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  5. Thanks mattford1 thanked for this post
  6. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Here is my poor man version of a string potentiometer. Not really how a string potentiometer functions since real ones use transducers, but worked quite well in my setup.

    Maurice
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. Thanks mattford1 thanked for this post
  8. #5
    25+ Posting Member mattford1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Thanks for the info guys. The thing I've found in my 737 quadrant is due to the movement of the arm, the travel is not linear at the end, ie the rate of change decreases towards the end of throw of the throttle arm. A string pot would fix it, but MAN those are expensive. I'm very torn about it .

  9. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Quote Originally Posted by mattford1 View Post
    Thanks for the info guys. The thing I've found in my 737 quadrant is due to the movement of the arm, the travel is not linear at the end, ie the rate of change decreases towards the end of throw of the throttle arm. A string pot would fix it, but MAN those are expensive. I'm very torn about it .

    I'm sure you already know that, but are you sure you are using a linear potentiometer rather than an audio taper potentiometer?

    Maurice
    ps Sorry if this insults your intelligence

  10. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Quote Originally Posted by mattford1 View Post
    Thanks for the info guys. The thing I've found in my 737 quadrant is due to the movement of the arm, the travel is not linear at the end, ie the rate of change decreases towards the end of throw of the throttle arm. A string pot would fix it, but MAN those are expensive. I'm very torn about it .
    Make your own for less than $20. I choked at the commercial versions too. Just couldn't see $450+ for that function.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  11. #8
    25+ Posting Member mattford1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Rodney-
    There are no such thing as stupid questions and that's actually a very astute one! Yes they are linear but thanks for the reply!

    Matt

  12. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    Quote Originally Posted by mattford1 View Post
    Rodney-
    There are no such thing as stupid questions and that's actually a very astute one! Yes they are linear but thanks for the reply!

    Matt

    Actually, it wasn't Rodney who asked the 'stupid' question . It was me, but what I actually meant is whether you checked with an ohmmeter whether the pot is actually linear. I once ordered & received some 'linear' pots which turned out to be audio taper instead, so the only sure way to know is to check them yourself. Just a long shot

    Maurice

  13. #10
    25+ Posting Member mattford1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone used a String Potentimeter

    It looks linear, it's just very dirty/jumpy and i wouldn't mind changing them out (pulled the quadrant out anyway). The thing has been in there almost 10 years now. Does anyone have a good lead on 100mm linear pots? Seems everywhere I look they are audio taper.

    Thanks!
    Matt

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Playing a string of wav files.
    By Martin Cumming in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 05:20 AM
  2. String Pots.....
    By Rodney in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 05:28 PM
  3. Boeing GC - No pink string!
    By Peter Ward in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 04:42 PM