Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Stijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    7 segment displays how does it work

    Hi,

    I have plans to make my own radio's and mcp. But I just don't get it how those 7 segement displays show for example 250 kts. If somebody could tell me how you get this working:
    Auto pilot FS: 250 kts ---> mcp sim display: 250kts

    I already red the manuals of ken how he makes the radio's. But if somebody could tell me it ''more easy'' that would be wonderfull.

    Stijn

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    Hallo Stijn,
    Well, it goes like this:

    one 7-segment diplay can show the digits 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9.
    three 7-segment displays in a row can show numbers between 000 and 999.

    The only thing you have to do is to take the value from FSUIPC and to send it to your display. It depends on your cockpit building system (IOCards, FSBUS, Phidgets, ...., what have you?) how you should do that.

    For example for IOCards in SIOC (just as example, don't know if there is an autopilot SPD offset in FSUIPC):

    Var 1 Link FSUIPC_IN Offset $xyza Length 2 // Auto pilot SPD
    {
    v3 = v1
    }

    Var 3 Link IOCARD_DISPLAY Digit 0 Numbers 3 // 3 digit display


    groeten,
    Nico

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    A little off topic here, but.... I have a small module I have been working on that is sort of related... I play with the AVR micro chips a lot and I built a small module that can connect to up to 6 seven-segment displays and display data from a small PC program I developed that interfaces with FSUIPC. My program can be configured to read 252 offsets and assigns them to internal "channels". The hardware module connects with USB and has DIP switches to select a channel for displaying that data. As an example, if you want a NAV freq on channel 10 you configure that in my PC program, then configure one (or more) display modules for channel 10 with the DIP switches. I also have the same concept working with LCD modules and VFD modules, they just display lot's more data. I have been working on duplicating that functionality using ethernet instead of USB, but USB hubs are cheaper and smaller than ethernet switches, plus the hardware module is cheaper to build. I also have a hybrid module that has inputs too. So far it can have 16 buttons and the displays. It started as a control module for my GPS but has ended up as much more. I wondered would this concept be of interest to any sim builders...? It's a bit more plug and play than IOcards (which I love and use).


    BuddyM

  4. Thanks Stijn, dnoize, NigelD, kiek thanked for this post
  5. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    Nice work, I'm impressed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddym View Post
    A little off topic here, but....
    Off topic indeed, in this Opencockpits General Discussion forum

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddym View Post
    I wondered would this concept be of interest to any sim builders...? It's a bit more plug and play than IOcards (which I love and use).
    In my opinion it is the software that makes the difference between cockpit building systems. SIOC is very very powerful and hard to beat.
    I don't see how you can be competetive with SIOC, but keep on inventing!

    regards,
    Nico

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member Stijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    Hi,

    I'm planning to use the stuff from opencockpits.

    I'm starting to get it nico, but i've bin on your site before and I saw you can download SIOC programmes, what exlacty do they. And can I use those to ''make it work''. And what do I have to do to make it work.

    Stijn

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    Yes, I agree Nico, the folks that did SIOC and the entire IOcards line of interfaces have the best thing going, in my humble opinion. I just like tinkering... all of my sim uses IOCards and Leo's latest card, with the exception of my GPS unit. BTW, your SIOC tutorials have been a gigantic help to me in setting up my sim, thanks very much!


    BuddyM

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddym View Post
    I also have the same concept working with LCD modules and VFD modules, they just display lot's more data.

    I welcome any initiative with an easy to use interface.
    Especially if it can be used with VFD's like the 4 line Futaba VFD's and multisegment starburst type vfd's

    I like VFD's much more than lcd's so i would be very interested in something like this.

    Stef



    .
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  9. #8
    75+ Posting Member Stijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    buddym

    Is there a possiblity you start focussing on 747-400 MCP's plug and play modules
    it's same there aren't 747-400 mcp's for a price like the 737 ones from opencockpits
    would be very helpful

    Stijn

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    I can take a look at them. Have you ever used FS-LCD? It's the same concept, only not really designed for more than 1 or 23 LCDs. I plugs into the parallel port and uses no hardware except the cable on the the LCD module. You configure what gets displayed. I noticed the original website for FSLCD appears to be down. ( http://mikkila.wabbits.org/fsbus/lcd/ ) I think I have a copy of it someplace at home. Very similar to the OC stuff tho.


    Lot's of VFDs have the Hitachi-compatible controllers and the ones that do can be used just about anyplace a LCD can. I like them better too, but they cost more!!

    BuddyM

  11. #10
    75+ Posting Member Stijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment displays how does it work

    wow,

    that sounds really interesting, so correct me if i'm wrong

    you plug this card into the paralelport of your pc and connect the lcd's to the card.

    But how hard is it to make them display what you want, can you explain how to do that?

    and does it work with 7 segment displays?

    Stijn

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 7 Segment displays reading reversed!
    By shoumi in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2010, 02:58 AM
  2. help with wiring up old units with 7 segment displays. What to use?
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 10:36 AM
  3. 7 segment displays qestion?
    By spiro in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2009, 04:47 PM
  4. Pesky 7 segment displays
    By Gaspode in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 08:03 PM