Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi,

    I am having problems with my phidgets64 card and fs2phidgets.

    I am wiring these to my 737's 6 packs however interfacing is causing me problems.

    Each plug in the board has two inputs, for example one plug has 2 sets of wires, one to control LED 2 & one to control LED 3.

    LED 2 is then wired to the FLT CONT
    LED 3 is then wired to the ELEC

    I have created the offset for phidgets to monitor in the variable monitor and allocated it to to the led's.

    However......

    Even when I test the individual LED's via phidgets, they operated in the plugged pairs - thus both illuminating rather than one at a time.

    I have tried everything to sort this but no luck, can anyone help?

    Thanks

    Jon

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi Jongas:

    Here are some possible causes:

    1. Is it possible you are using the same offset for both ? I have done this accidently !!!!

    2. Can you light them individually just by connecting one only ?

    3. Did you create your own phidgets variables using a new FSUIPC offset ?
    Perhaps these are 2or 4 byte variables not simple 1 byte on/off functions.

    4. If you are using 1 common wire from the 6 pack for all leds it must be the ANODE common to work with LED-64. Also remember the even numbered outputs will drive one group of common anodes. And odd numbered outputs will drive the second group.

    Regards Ken K

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Thanks for your reply.

    All offsets are programmed correctly - I have the problem even when using the "light LED" function in the FS2phidgets main console, so I am certain it is not my programming.

    As you may know each plug has 4 wires, for example a red and black for LED 0 and a red and black for LED 1 - I have wired them up like this, so effectively I have two seperate LEDS in two seperate circuits.

    On one of the plugs I have just one led (and the other set of wires spare for future use) this led DOES still illuminate without the adjoining socket being used.

    I hope this can help someone, to help me !!!!

    Thanks

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi Jongas:

    Can you just wire output 2 and output 3 to a couple loose leds instead of the six pack. Then try programming the leds to lite with 2 DIFFERENT functions that you know work correctly. At least that would show if the outputs do work separately with known offsets.

    Regards Ken K

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi, I have tried this now - when you illuminate output 2, output 3 still illuminates but all be it slightly dimmer than number 2.

    It's vice-versa with 3 illuminated

    confused yet?!!!

    Jon

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi Jongas

    Heres a couple more things to try:

    1. DO NOT use a USB port expander for the LED64 card. Plug it directly into the computer USB connector. This has been a problem for some poeple.

    2. Power supply. Are you using the Phidgets power supply (output 6v @ 1.5A) measure the voltage right at the card connector . Verify it remains stable when the LEDS are lighted. Underpowering the board might make it do strange things.

    3. I would also try Phidgets Tech support. They may have some ideas.

    Regards Ken K

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    I run a LED64 in my annunciator panel. I have a probem with the ports "ghosting" each other...I can turn the same light on from 4 or 5 different light positions in FS2Phidgets. What you need to do is take one of those LEDs and find a different port in FS2Phidgts.

    For example...The lights are plugged into number 2 and 3, just for example. you turn on port 2 and they both illuminate. you turn on port 20 and only one light illuminates. Program that light to port 20 instead of 2...same with the other light..understand? it is confusing.
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Is it possible that one of the LEDs is shorted or backwards ? If you look at the LED64 output MUX circuit in the manual it looks like a shorted or backward led could create a path to 3 leds.

    For example: If led0 is energized via k0 and led3 is installed backwards a path exists via: negative power --- k0 ----led1----led3(backward)----led2---anode0 (positive)

    I would expect led0 to light normally but the others to be dim. How dim would depend on the individual voltage drops.

    My reference is page 11 of the product manual. It shows the output multiplexer circuit.

    I am using the the LED64 to operate 16 leds in my TBP sim. So far I havent had any problems. I plan to add about 20 more led functions so I am VERY interested in how this all turns out. I am using the leds supplied in the starter kit and the cables as well.

    Sounds like a good lab project.

    Regards Ken K

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    If they are backwards the light will not work at all..I have done that numerous times
    I'm not replicating anything, because I like to fly everything.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG1LP3xxn0Q

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help with Phidgets64 card

    Hi all:

    Your correct it wont light if shorted. But the other 2 would be on dimly. If you have all 64 wired up it might be possible for an obscure led to be shorted some place. I know I am grasping at straws on this. But I'm really hoping this is some simple wiring problem and not a design flaw in the LED64. This is a very strange bug and it sounds like other poeple are having it too.

    Some weird problems are caused by poor digital power regulation causing logic thresholds to switch incorrectly. Also using some usb port expanders can cause logic pulses to have round corners instead of nice square fast rising pulses.

    I hope I am not due for problems down the road. I am going to hook up more Leds soon. Dont want to junk my LED64. So far it works great and I like the logic functions Alan D made available.

    Regards Ken K

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Throttle Card
    By IPG1939 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 11:48 PM
  2. 737 MIP USB Card
    By rush1974 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 02:55 PM
  3. IO Cards Problem setting up Display Card on Master Card
    By Barrykensett in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2009, 02:30 PM
  4. New input card disconnecting the other card
    By Michael Carter in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-23-2009, 12:01 PM