Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Networking and Internet sharing

    Hi,
    Not up with networking but need to know the following.
    Here is my network and description:
    PC1, PC2 these two are conected to a switch.
    PC3 is remote and connects to the Internet via cable modem(USB conn) and then to the switch via OVER THE POWER LINE LAN connection.
    Every thing works fine,internet sharing and networking.
    If i break the OVER THE POWER LINE connection,then naturally i will loose
    internet to the PC1 and PC2.But I also loose networking between PC1 and PC2.
    Is this because PC3 is really my server?.Do i need to use a Router?.
    Where should i place my Router?(should it be at the other end of the Over Power Lan line).
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Les

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Networking and Internet sharing

    OK, I'm going to assume from the description "PC3" it is not a laptop. Does PC3 have a ethernet port? I don't understand over the power line lan, But I have something similar for telephone between 2 dvr's to avoid a $5.98 monthly fee for a guide. Does your cable connection split somehow and go to a usb dongle in the back of PC3? If PC3 is doing Internet Connection Sharing for PC1 & PC2 then yes, you sort have a server service. Most Internet connections go into a house via cable, DSL or Satellite dish and then into a router. Then all pc's go into the router. Some routers have wireless capability too. If PC1 & PC2 that are connected to a switch, what is the switch connected to? How do they get connected to the internet? Over the power line lan? So many possibilities.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Networking and Internet sharing

    Hi Rodney,
    Thanks for the reply.Let me explain a little.PC3 is a laptop inside my house which has an internet connection from a cable modem(connected to PC3 via USB).
    I then exit PC3 thru a lan cable to an adapter plugged into a mains socket.
    This is my lan cable out to my w/shop where PC1 and PC2 reside.
    There is another adapter plugged in the mains which is the other
    end of the lan cable.From here we go into switch which then feeds PC1
    and PC2.
    Its when i switch off one of these adapters,naturally i will losethe internet connection but i also lose the lan between PC1 and PC2.I suppose i should be replacing the switch with a router.There by providing a server which has been severed by turning off the connection to PC3.
    Hope this makes it a bit clearer.
    Les

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Networking and Internet sharing

    Les,
    OK then PC1 & PC2 must be getting a DHCP assigned IP address when PC3 is on from the cable modem. When you turn off PC3 there is no longer a DHCP service available to assign IP addresses. So PC1 & PC2 need static IP addresses assigned that are in the range of the internet modem. Best way to tell you how to do that is fire your systems up and do a ipconfig /all from a command prompt on PC1 & PC2 and then assign that ip address that each one has as a static ip address on PC1 & PC2. When you take the internet down after that PC1 & PC2 should then be able to see each other.
    http://www.hotcomm.com/FAQ/FAQ_staticIPXP.asp
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Re: Networking and Internet sharing

    Rodney,
    Thanks all fine now.Did what you suggested and it works well now.
    Les

Similar Threads

  1. Sharing touchscreen setups
    By eisenmpferd in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 07:54 AM
  2. Thank you Hans Krohn for sharing your project
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2007, 12:59 PM
  3. Sharing Your Product Reviews to Help the Community of Windows Users
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM
  4. Sharing of procedures
    By Anders Eriksson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 04:42 PM
  5. Sharing PFD, CDU and MCP-folder
    By Tom Stian Bjerk in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2006, 08:39 AM