Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ? about computer

    I .00am building my simulator and had the my local computer store price me up a setup for a computer that can handle what I will be doing. I will be running FSX with vista with 3 outside views with a matrox triple head and 2 other monitors for instruments. I told him I wanted him a computer that can handle this and he had priced it at around $3400.00 This does not include monitors, mouse, keyboard just the tower. It includes processor I7920. The memory is 12 gig ddr400 and 2 nvidia quadro fx3800 video cards. This seems very expensive to me and I don't know much about computers. Any thoughts

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member airbus319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    Have a look on ebay mate you will find lots of companies doing deals around the $1000 dollar mark for the kind of spec you are looking for.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    I was going to mention you could do better than that.

    Processor, cache, memory, video card. If only for FS, a moderately large hard drive will suffice. You don't need a tera-byte for it and you can do better, much better than $3400 bucks. You could buy a smoking system and have money left over for PM if you lean that way.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    Thanks for the input. The problem is that is the only computer store around. I am thinking about going with an alienware since I heard these are the best for gaming. I want a computer that I can turn up the sliders and still get awesome frame rates and like i said i dont know how to build a computer.

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    You had better find out about how computers are built, and what you need in an FS system for what you want it to do before handing your hard earned dollars over to some hack company.

    There are thousands, if not hundreds of thousands of pages on the internet that will explain how a computer is put together the way it is and why.

    Don't be taken advantage of. Have enough knowledge about computers to know what will work for your sim.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 06-12-2009 at 11:56 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie makoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Finland / Philippines
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    Thants true.
    Like prosessors, you can loose much money for nothing.
    In FS9, it dosent use quad core, so just buying powerfull single or dual core can save already couple hundreds.
    I think also FSX cant use quad?
    Also you can look second hand, great for using to sim, maybe 600 to 800
    and save hundrets again.

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    As a rule of thumb, I don't ask questions at computer stores. If they knew the right answer, chances are they wouldn't work there.... or are to young for a "real" job.

    Sorry, I know that is harsh, but I have never seen an exception to this in all my years.

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    Take a look at the Avsim motherboard forum. Lots of good information there with some real experts including NickN who has tested extensively with FSX and what works and what doesn't in hardware for that pesky program if stuttering is to be avoided.

    --
    Bryn

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ? about computer

    Hi,

    I would suggest you contact Micheal Greenblat. He specializes in systems for FS and will certainly be able to help you build a system for less than $3,400. He is helping me and the cost for a "high speed" system will be about $1,300US. This will be for FS9 under Windows XP with all addons and sliders maxed out. He expects me to get at least 60fps with the system he has developed for me. Here's his website.

    http://www.fs-gs.com/services.htm

    Rob

Similar Threads

  1. Cluster computer ?
    By verticallimit in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2011, 08:31 PM
  2. 2nd computer
    By Mathias357 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 10:59 AM
  3. computer set up fsx
    By spiro in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 10:59 PM
  4. PFD/ND/CDU on same computer
    By Jackpilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 03:19 PM
  5. New computer for FS, what do you think?
    By btlnco in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2008, 05:57 AM