Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    sound with headsets

    This might be a dumb question but I am building my sim and going to use fsx with vox atc. I am going to have a surround sound built inside my cockpit for sound of the aircraft but i want a headset for communication sound. How is this done and what do i need. Thanks for all the help

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am not sure how you want to do it, but what I do is Run VATSIM on another computer in the network, and have my "Real aviation Intercom" connected to the microphone and headset outputs of the VATSIM Computer. Then I have surround sound coming form my flight simulator computer.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For a single PC solution, I use a simple USB sound adapter to connect my headset. I got one on E-bay for a few pounds. Make sure the adapter is showing in your control panel sound settings and then under Options>Settings>Sound, select the USB device for the Voice setting.
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I want to be able to use the goflight atc panel and if I get a usb headset it will not plug into the panel. Is this correct. I am only using one computer so I was thinking the atc panel corrected this problem with having atc sound only for the headset and the rest of audio out of speakers

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It all depends on how the GoFlight ATC panel audio is handled. Provided it shows up as a separate audio device to your speakers in your OS then it should work. It would be worth checking with GoFlight.

    I bought VOXATC a while ago and its voice uses a different audio channel to FSX ATC. This means even though you might have ATIS reading back through your headphones, VOXATC still comes through the main speakers. I dont tend to use VOXATC now. It didn't quite live up to my expectations.
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

  6. #6
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I too have VoxAtc and the question has arose before. I think the only available options are to purcahse the Goflight panel to spilt sound (Or possibly learn how one funtions and see what you can do about putting something together yourself)

    Alternatively you can buy another sound card to link to the computer or even link another computer one for comm . sound and other programs and another for the enviroment sound (everything else)

    I personally, am not aware of any other ways you could do this. Maybe someone else is.

    Hope that helps
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sound with headsets

    I have this and found using a usb headset worked a treat, i have a single pc setup and my aircraft sounds coming through my speakers, voxatc comes through the headset.
    If i remember correctly i had to go into control panel in xp, speech, and then assign the usb headset to the text to speech functions and audio output.

    Its something to do with voxatc using a completly different audio to fsx.

    Hope this helps

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sound with headsets

    Another option: Are you going to be flying online with Squawkbox on VATSIM? I do, and we have a company channel on teamspeak too. In both of those programs you can assign the input/output device so if you have a second sound card (or, indeed, USB headset) you can assign those programs to the second device/heatset, and all other sounds will come out of your speakers.

    I've tested this and both options work a treat. I don't like running Squawkbox on a second machine - I find a lot of the online traffic does not appear on my screen so I cannot taxi safely - people get cranky when I run over them!

    If anyone knows a solution to that one, I'd be glad to hear it!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sound with headsets

    I think for what you are trying to do you have 2 choices. Putting a srcond sound card in the computer or buying a USB sound device not a headset. You can buy a USB sound device that has you inputs for mike and headset just as your computer does. Then you would plug the Go Flight unit into that.
    Bob Reed

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    LOWW
    Posts
    13
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: sound with headsets

    Ian is giving good suggestions here: http://www.737ng.co.uk/sound.pdf.
    BTW his site is a never ending source of how it might be done. Read and start thinking the creative way...

    Best from Vienna
    Georg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pilot/CoPilot headsets
    By sananona in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 03:34 PM
  2. Using aviation headsets on a PC
    By abxnightpilot in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 09:12 PM
  3. X-Plane Thunder Sound addon sound pack
    By Padraig in forum General X-Plane (Laminar Research)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 07:24 AM
  4. SIOC SOUND: How to make a looping sound?
    By stabell in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 08:27 PM
  5. Captain & 1st officer headsets
    By Daveanne in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-30-2007, 06:28 PM