Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Azores, Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Red face [Help] Light Panel

    Hello

    After making my introduction, it's time to share my problems/questions with people who can actually help me

    I want to do a little box, where I have some 5 or 6 switches and LED's (simple as that )! But my problem is that I don't know who to plug/weld everything. I would like to ask if someone know where I can get a picture or diagram of the connections I need to do, and if it's not asking to much, to list what I do need to buy.

    This is what I intend to do, kind of


    Thank you so much for reading this

    Best Regards,
    Paulo Santos

    Edit:
    I forgot to mention that I wanted to be able to connect it to the PC via USB (there's another problem! I don't know what software I need to use so that I can connect the device to the FS). And those LED's would turn on when I turn the switch on

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have only worked with IOcards and Bodnar cards. Both are awesome, the Bodnar is a input device, no LEDs, but USB and works great. The IOcards is input and output, and very expandable. USB interface with the USB expansion card. There are more cards out there but I have no experience with them, so the combo of these 2 is my suggestion.


    BuddyM

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wiring the LED and switches is easy, but communicating with FS without a controller card is well beyond me. You could buy a cheap joystick or game controller and use its parts and its USB controller. Might be easier just to buy a GoFlight GF-T8. http://www.goflightinc.com/order/pro...products_id=77 or the remote kit http://www.goflightinc.com/order/pro...products_id=62

    I bought Leo Bodnar's BU0836X card (as mentioned by Buddym) http://www.leobodnar.com/products/BU0836X/ they are very versatile.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Azores, Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you! To both of you, for the fast replies

    Buying the "thing" ready to roll is out of the question (these guys want 100$ for a couple of wires and buttons ). I already saw some homemade projects of this kind, but none shows the wiring done And that's the part that I really need right now

    I want to do a complete homemade kind of project... This is where I will start. Does anyone have more opinions?

    Regards
    Paulo

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you want to use USB hardware interface, and build it yourself, your best bet is to use a PIC micro-controller with on-board USB.

    But unless you are already familiar, by the time you have bought it and the associated components, learned how to program it, made the circuit board etc, you may have been better off buying one.

    In my opinion, the price of the previously mentioned cards is about right.

    Rob

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member salautom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Zeewolde (The Netherlands)
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    well, if you like to solder:

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...ml?cPath=21_27

    you need a parallel port for that, if you want to connect to usb, you also need this one:

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...ml?cPath=21_30

    (they also have the assembled one's for a higher price)
    Regards,

    Henk.

    (my hobby: http://777simulator.nl)
    (FSX/Sim-Avionics/OpenCockpits)

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Again, you could just buy a cheap usb game controller on ebay for $10 like this one http://cgi.ebay.ca/Dual-Shock-USB-Ga...3A1%7C294%3A50 and open it up and use its button contacts as connections to your switches and just wire some LEDs to come on when the switch is on. FS will see it as a USB game controller - then just map the buttons/switches to whatever function you want.

    Some info on wiring LED and modifying an XBOX game controller http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/mods/x...0LED%20Mod.htm. The main thing about LEDs is using the correct resistor.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Azores, Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello everyone!

    Quote Originally Posted by salautom View Post
    well, if you like to solder:

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...ml?cPath=21_27

    you need a parallel port for that, if you want to connect to usb, you also need this one:

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...ml?cPath=21_30

    (they also have the assembled one's for a higher price)
    That's what I was loocking for!! I really wanted to do something like that, and solder everything by my self. That will be my next step, when I build my AP box :P
    Now i'm going to do what I was told, and I bought a gamepad to try it this way... I'll post it here, so everyone can see/help.

    Thank you, once again, for all your help!

    Regards
    Paulo Santos

Similar Threads

  1. Parking Brake Light and Stab Trim Light (real throttle assy.)
    By blueskydriver in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 07:13 PM
  2. light 737
    By brian95 in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-2010, 07:55 AM
  3. Le Flap Transit,Ext light and FMC Message light
    By captdave in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 05:36 PM
  4. APP light
    By cz4hkr in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 04:19 PM
  5. EXEC Light on CDU
    By Thomas Ohnacker in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2006, 09:15 PM