Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Spoceto1003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somerset UK
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Wiring of LEd lights...

    Can anybody offer any advice as to the correct way to wire up a LED light, so that when a push button or toggle switch is turned on..the LED illuminates.

    I am not an electrician and my knowledge is limited.....I thought that if I soldered the LED after the switch on the return side to the Interface card, this would.. when the switch is on allow power to illuminate the LED (if I use a powered USB port)

    Can anyone tell me if this correct? or am I totally wrong...any help gratefully recieved...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member


    chrisdanker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    108
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey ,

    Check out this site.....
    http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/components/led.htm

    Chris Danker
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

  3. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member Spoceto1003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somerset UK
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Thanks Chris...

    Thanks for the site link....it has helped.

    So my basic premise was right? but I need to incorporate a resistor before the LED.

    Thanks Again for your help

  5. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Good find Chris, thanks.

    Matt Olieman

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member Spoceto1003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somerset UK
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Would this idea work??????????????

    I have searched the forum's, but I can't get the answer to my basic question...

    If I bought a Universal Joystick Controller BU0836X leo Bodnar, and wired in a Toggle switch, for the strobe lights say, which then had a LED on the return side.
    If I used FSUIPC to run the switch, when I turned on the switch would the LED work and would the switch activate the flight sim

    Is this too simplistic or have I understood this, as I plan to go ahead, but I am unsure whether I am buying the right things and whether it is possible.

    Thanks from a novice....but keen to learn

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario
    Posts
    76
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisdanker View Post
    Hey ,

    Check out this site.....
    http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/components/led.htm
    The only thing I would add to that is that the warning in the site not to connect the LED the wrong way round shouldn't actually be a warning, since the LED would simply not light up, and almost no current would flow. The LED would not be damaged in a any way, so the warning is overkill. A "note" would have been sufficient!

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario
    Posts
    76
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoceto1003 View Post
    I have searched the forum's, but I can't get the answer to my basic question...

    If I bought a Universal Joystick Controller BU0836X leo Bodnar, and wired in a Toggle switch, for the strobe lights say, which then had a LED on the return side.
    If I used FSUIPC to run the switch, when I turned on the switch would the LED work and would the switch activate the flight sim

    Is this too simplistic or have I understood this, as I plan to go ahead, but I am unsure whether I am buying the right things and whether it is possible.

    Thanks from a novice....but keen to learn
    Can you draw a diagram of what you mean? How do you visualise wiring this? The reason I ask is because I don't kow what you mean buy "return side" and "activate the flight sim".

  9. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    chrisdanker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    108
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    HUYS,

    HERE'S ANOTHER SITE TO CHECKOUT REGARDING led WIRING AND SWITCH CONNECTIONS. ITS IAN SISSONS SITE.......my sim building "guru"

    http://www.737ng.co.uk/overhead.htm

    regards,
    Chris

    Chris Danker
    Brisbane, AUSTRALIA

  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi, my 2 cents worth. What you should do is get double pole swithes. these are basiscally two switches side by side in the same case.Then you can use one side of the switch for the flightsim connected to Leo's card(best thing ever, after fs2phidgets.)and then use the other side of the switch to power the led. But a much much better approach would be to get a phidgets led64 card and fs2phidgets software and then the functions can "really" light up the led so you know the switch really did its job, Then you can have real landing gear lights and lots of other functions that light up.

    Once you see what phidgets and fs2phidgets can do your life will never be the same, real easy to set up...

    Andy

    edit: stall warning, overspeed warning,spoilers armed.....ooohh.. I must go flying now.

  11. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are no indicators on the end of the switch to know whether it has actually been turned on or not.

    Throw it down and they're on, and push them up for off the after landing checklist.

    Do you really need something sucking up more needless amperage from your power supply just to see two or four red dots on your overhead because you can't remember what position the switch is in, or follow the checklist?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Similar Threads

  1. Nav lights Taxi lights
    By mocha22 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 09:35 AM
  2. help ref wiring
    By BishBash in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 08:06 PM
  3. Hard wiring a master lights test?
    By HondaCop in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 06:43 AM
  4. wiring
    By phil. in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2008, 04:38 AM
  5. Wiring
    By imported_767300 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 02:46 PM