Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Saitek throttle quadrant

    I was considering building my own push-pull throttle set-up but I wonder if I would be better just to buy a Saitek throttle quadrant.

    First, yes I did search. Only two posts come up for a search of Saitek Pro Throttle and they are not useful for this query.

    My questions are:

    1 Does the Saitek pro throttle quadrant work fine on X-plane on a Mac? I know Saitek don't support OS X but I would think this throttle would simply get "seen" by OS X as a three axis six button joystick? Does anyone know? I know I could just try it but I don't just want to throw down $50 without checking.

    2 How much realism do people feel is lost by using a "rotary-style" throttle/mix for a Cessna sim? I am not building a 1-1 simpit but I do want something that helps train me in doing/making the right procedures, movements and decisions.

    3 If I decide I want to build a push-pull throttle/mix later, am I likely to be able to cannibalize the board from the Saitek anyway and just interface it to new (slider) pots and switches?

    Thoughts appreciated.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Thottle DIY

    Hi Just my two cents worth but unless you already have a dead saitek throttle quad handy i belive you would be better off using a Leobodnar BU036 interface Board and a few cheap Linear Slide pots, Leos great entry level PCB cost around 16.00 ( Check website for actual cost ) and slide pots are maybe 1.50 each ... Since your on the DIY path Time is the only downside. Have bought both Leo's Interfaces ( BU036 and the BU036X ) and they are so easy to setup and use it make projects like these a doddle. ( Easy ).. Just my opinion its been done and there are loads of examples around Cheers

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  4. Thanks mattevans thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. Saitek Throttle quadrant
    By BlackWidow in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 06:29 AM
  2. MD-83 Throttle Quadrant, Boeing 737-300 Throttle Quadrant
    By Chaser in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 08:10 PM
  3. CH Throttle quadrant
    By ALWAT1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 12:38 PM