Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Motion software on a one of the 4 cores

    Hi Guys,
    I'm into the chair build and have some questions.
    As FSX is only able to utilize 2 cores is it possible to setup and run the motion software on one of the other unused cores?
    Is it possible to use USB as the IO interface or do i need PCI/PCI-e serial port card?
    As it turns out I am going to go ahead and add jounce/heave and yaw. My plan is to link the yaw to the roll motion but double the speed and range. In the event that I need feedback on the yaw axis, is yaw implemented in any of the motion software?
    And finally, I'd like to use my chair with an Xbox 360 and Playstation3. I was thinking of using force feedback for roll and brake/accelerator input for pitch. Is there any interface software out there to do this?
    Thanks in advance for your help guys. I hope I'm not being a pain in the butt.
    Well time to go order some steel tubing. I sure wish I could weld aluminum.

    John

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up You can use 4 cores in FSX

    Hi

    You can use 4 cores in FSX

    http://thommos.com/blogged/2008/03/fsx-quad-core.html

    Steve


  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There has been some extensive testing done by one of the forum members at flightsim.com that clearly shows no gain between a 2 core and 4 core CPU running at the same speed. The guy spent considable time and effort using multiple hardware and software configurations. It's a very comprehensive read. you should check it out.
    John

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member tasmanet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hobart , Australia
    Posts
    56
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs down I have better things to do

    I have better things to do

Similar Threads

  1. Motion Software.....help
    By neman in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 01:08 AM
  2. Motion Software
    By IanH1960 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 08:59 AM
  3. Aircraft motion for platform software
    By Roland in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 02:54 AM
  4. Experimenting with Jim's motion software
    By Roland in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2006, 05:13 PM