Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TH2GO & Monitors

    Hi,

    Just a quick question to see what the best/reccomended size of monitor works with the TH2GO? Does a 22" widescreen work OK or are there gaps in the outside screens? Does the outside view look stretched etc. Need this info before making a purchase to use TH2GO for outside view only.

    Many Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mounty View Post
    Hi,

    Just a quick question to see what the best/reccomended size of monitor works with the TH2GO? Does a 22" widescreen work OK or are there gaps in the outside screens? Does the outside view look stretched etc. Need this info before making a purchase to use TH2GO for outside view only.

    Many Thanks

    Rob
    The digital will handle the 22" monitor. The analog version (don't even know if you can get this anymore) is limited to 19" monitors.
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have the digital TH2Go with (3) Acer 22" 2216W LCD widescreen monitors that run 3x1280x1024 (3840x1024). This resolution is a 4:3 resoultion which is not widescreen so the image is a little distorted on the 22" widescreen. The new firmware allows 3x1680x1050 (5040x1050) which is a widescreen resolution but requires 57hz refresh rate which some monitor cannot achieve (like my Acer 2216W). So, if you are buying a monitor make sure it can handle a 57Hz refresh rate at 1680x1050. I believe there is a list of monitor that work at widescreengaming: http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...forum.php?f=57

    On some monitors you can force them into 57Hz refresh rate to make them work at the 5040x1050 - but again it didn't work on my monitors!!!!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  4. Thanks fweinrebe thanked for this post
  5. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Türkenfeld
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TH2GO & Monitors

    Another question concerning TH2GO:

    Is it possible (even if its not officially supported by Matrox) to connect mixed Monitor sizes? Actually i have 1 22" Wide as Main and 2 19" to the left/right.

    Anybody ever tried this before?

    I thought about it last week, when i disonnected my 22" and the screen on the 19" switched to primary, i had to sroll the desktop horizontaly, because the resolution was still 1680 x 1050. So the monitor might handle that resolution.

    I know, the picture would be cut on the sides, but thats no problem.

    I think about buying a TH2GO, because when i use multiple windows for FS views, the frames go down with the third window to be opened. With the TH2GO and only "one" view, frames shouldnt go down that way i think.

    Greetings,


    Andi

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TH2GO & Monitors

    I use my th2go digital edition with 3 24" screens with no problem at all.

  7. Thanks Tomlin thanked for this post
  8. #6
    75+ Posting Member MartinK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TH2GO & Monitors

    Hi,

    It is not the size of the monitor that is the determining factor but rather it's resolution. The issue however is that the TH2GO forces you to use the same resolution on all connected monitors. Here is what Matrox says about this on their website:

    Can I use 3 monitors that each support different maximum resolutions?
    You can use monitors that support different maximum resolutions with your TripleHead2Go Digital Edition product, but you’ll have to use the lowest common maximum resolution of your monitors. For example, if you’re using 1 monitor with a 1280x1024 resolution and 2 monitors each with a 1024x768 resolution, your 3 monitors will each use a 1024x768 resolution (3x1024x76. This would be the correct resolution to use. (Using a resolution that’s lower than what your flat panel monitor supports may result in poor image quality.)


    But if you manage to find yourself e.g. a 10 inch, a 15 inch and a 26 inch monitor which all three support e.g. 1024 x 768 it will work but the picture would probably look a bit weird....

    Cheers,

    Martin
    2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3 GB Mem ATI HD 3650
    Vista/FS9.1/PMDG747/UTEurope/MEGAX Frankfurt/Cloud9 EHAM

    Flying is easy: move the stick forward - houses get bigger. Pull the stick back - houses get smaller again

  9. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TH2GO & Monitors

    Hi,
    As Martin said its looking weird, also you will get a big headach.
    trust me I have the experience,
    I had my screens switched within 2 days of flying .
    But on the otherhand an approach will be really interesting
    greetz

Similar Threads

  1. TH2GO
    By phil. in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 09:48 AM
  2. TH2Go and FSX
    By airwolfe in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 03:43 PM
  3. More than one TH2GO on one PC anyone?
    By brynjames in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2008, 08:10 AM
  4. TH2go with 2 monitors?
    By Martin Cumming in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2007, 11:15 AM
  5. Th2go
    By mounty in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 04:54 PM