Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Member snizbatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder

    Hey everyone! I'm new to the site, and pretty new to hardware interfacing, but I came up with a solution to tuning a NAV radio's fine and coarse frequency with a single rotary encoder with pushbutton. I wired a 5v relay from Radio Shack to the Desktop Aviator board's +5v and GND through the encoder's pushbutton which makes it transfer the Common pin on the encoder from Row 1 to Row 2 when pressed. Turn to tune coarse, push and turn to tune fine. Works great... except that the 2090 is kind of weird and lags a bit. I think everyone has had this problem though. I'd switch to a different board if I had $$ laying around. Hoping maybe this will help someone. I'm going to attach a schematic and photos.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    very interesting idea, would never had come up with it!

    BTW, I see you are in Jacksonville, I am in Tampa.... what aircraft are you building?


    BuddyM

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,
    I would recommend to use normal rotary encoder with a push button (in the shaft) and a cockpit interface card, much easier...

    For instance a CTS288 connected to a Opencockpits Master Card, but there are of course many more options.

    regards,
    Nico

Similar Threads

  1. COM1 Frequency with 1 rotary encoder with pushbutton
    By caparo in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-31-2010, 06:35 PM
  2. Dual Rotary Encoder in SIOC
    By 737dragon in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 06:01 AM
  3. Turning heading bug fast with rotary encoder
    By Learjet15 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 01:47 PM
  4. 3 Dual Rotary Encoder
    By colaboy in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 06:52 PM
  5. Dual Rotary Encoder
    By Algarve737NG in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 12:52 PM