Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
How to fit engravity large toggle caps on large switches
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to fit engravity large toggle caps on large switches

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462

    How to fit engravity large toggle caps on large switches

    I have just installed the engravity toggle caps which are originally intended to use on 3mm shaft. Since all my switches are 6mm shaft, I wanted to install these without a mess of glue.

    First I attached the aluminium pieces in a lathe, and drilled a 6mm hole. I used a piece of tape on the bore, so each piece would get the same lenght of the hole. You want to use a lathe for drilling this hole bigger, since the aluminium walls only will be 0,5mm thick after this process. No hand drilling


    Then I installed shrink tube and heated it around the knob shaft. Some experimentation needed to find the right "spot" on the shaft.


    Then grab the shrinked shrink tube with a plier, and start screw the aluminium piece into the shaft. Some force is required. If it go too easy into place, you might need to install the shrink tube again, a little closer to the shafts end.


    If you got your shrink tube in the correct location, the aluminium piece get really stuck. And without the mess of using glue.


    Use a knife to remove the rest of the shrink tube that is visible

    And the result is a much more realistic overhead

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Thanks for sharing Ivar.

    For even more realism you should cut the white caps a little. If you like, i can check how much mm they exactly are.

    Stef




    .
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Great. Thank you stef

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    211
    It's about 4-5 millimetres. Use a sharp knife, tread the cap onto a wooden stick and cut by rotating the shaft. That will give you an even edge. Do a test first, cutting too little. Then "ease" into the correct length. Then you'll have a reference piece. Fasten with flash-glue.



  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    total length of a real cap is 12,40 mm

    i have added 2 pictures.

    one of the real cap with a digital caliper and another one with the real cap compared to the engravity one cut at the correct size.


    Stef
    Attached Images Attached Images
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Excellent information Stef.
    Many thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Large amount of MD-80 items available on E-Bay
    By Chaser in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 10:20 AM
  2. PC requirements for 1 large and 1 small monitor 3d ?
    By roxiedog13 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 09:42 AM
  3. TH2GO and 2 large LCD tv's
    By Flying_Dutchman in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 01:46 PM
  4. Large OH Toggle Switch Covers
    By mpl330 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 09:13 AM
  5. Large numbers of inputs/outputs
    By kolenat in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2005, 02:43 PM