Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Site problem?

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Site problem?

    When I try to access this site it often times out (more than 50% of the time over past 2 weeks) and IE reports 'site not available'. Is anyone else experiencing this? Could be a DNS or server issue ...

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy Totally Baffled!!!

    Thanks for reporting that... Bob R. and I have had the same issue and truly have not come up with a reason. I've talked with the Server provider, my own Internet provider and including Linksys.. even got a new router.

    I've probably spent 15 hours on the phone with different tech supports.

    I found out when I run in "Safe Mode" the problem does not exhist... so it had me baffled. I was told it was my "Fire Walls" Sure enough, if I turn them off I don't have a problem.

    Another test was going through a "Proxy" I use http://www.megaproxy.com/ , and there too I've had no problems.

    NOW..... you tell me of a similar problem..... It's got me scratching my head.

    NicD, if you or anyone else having this problem again... please try the above and let me know.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Matt. That is a wierd issue ... intermittent IT problems are always the worst. I am using a router with hardware firewall - DLink DSL-504G. I haven't had problems with any other sites so it must be something to do with your web host.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi NicD. I too have this problem. I too visit dozens of other sites a day, you would think that if the problem was on my end I would see it at least with just one other site.. . But I don't, this is the only site I have trouble with. It is simple for a company to tell you it is on your end... I use a Linux based router/fire wall I can not turn it off. Been using ot for 2 years without a problem. We need to try to get to the bottom of this...... I hate this type of problem. We may never find the problem!
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I had the same trouble on Wednesday. I couldn't get in at all.

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No Wednesday was a differant problem. The site was down for a bit. What we are talking about here is a intermittent problem that I get off and on.
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If anyone else is having this problem please let us know!
    Bob Reed

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation

    I have been having this problem for a couple of weeks now. I suggest you look into the port forwarding table of your router and the IPSEC. These two sections can cause this kind of problem since they would refuse the connection for a couple of different reasons.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Any webserver admin who claims that HTTP traffic can't get through a client firewall and therefore the problem is "your end" needs to get with it. Port 80 is always wide and open on both ends - routers and firewalls should make no difference unless they have deliberately been fiddled with to muck up on port 80. I know mine hasn't, and I'm betting Matt's and Bob's haven't either.

    You should insist that your webserver admin does a thorough analysis of the DNS, virtual server and server/folder options of this site - including an examination of the logs to see what's happening with inbound requests etc. A looping ping or HTTP request might be in order to trace the uptime of the site.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  10. #10
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool Excellent Responses

    Thanks for the excellent responses. It's been driving me "batty."

    Anyway... when it happens again... please try the proxy.... If it works, it doesn't mean it's your system, but helps narrow it down.

    Thanks again

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New web site
    By richard hutchinson in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 07:36 AM
  2. Should MyCockpit Site Be an Open Site To All
    By Matt Olieman in forum MyCockpit Polls
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 09:45 AM
  3. New to site
    By trwagner1 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 02:57 PM
  4. Useful Web site
    By richard hutchinson in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 12:49 PM