Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OC display card not working at all

    Hi all,

    I have posted 3 messages on OC, but it seems to die down with 1 answer only, dunno!!

    I have the following issue. All items have been finished and tested by OC.
    I have 3 MC, and 2 display cards. The following is happening on all of them.


    SETUP (as follows)
    1. Dedicated Power Supply 300W - at the moment only supplying 1 Mastercard
    2. 1 USB card - 1 MC - 1 display card
    3. Input/outputs used up for AFDS panels switches and LEDs. (All working fine)

    But, the display card does not work at all.
    I have tried various tests, along with the ones I could find online, but nothing!
    Not a single 7 segment display works!

    1. My Controlador config is set correctly
    2. The display PCB is from OC, and hooked up right. The 7 Segments work when I check them with 5V power. There are no breaks in my wiring or in the circuits.
    3. Sometimes, the 7 segment will faintly flicker, and that is all. 40 IDE cable is supplying the power.

    My question is


    A) Does the display card need separate 5V supply to work?
    B) What physical test can I do to ensure the display card is fine?
    C) If I do not have enough load connected to my PSU, does that prevent the PSU from supplying adequate voltage to the MC - so that all inputs/outputs and displays work?

    Any help at all is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,


    Shoumi

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member salautom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Zeewolde (The Netherlands)
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    you can check a couple of things:
    - power to the mastercard, 5V pin closest to the 9pins connector
    - first mastercard is the one connected to connector J1 on the USB card

    flickering on the 7 segments display is probably a bad or even none power (5V) connected to the mastercard
    Regards,

    Henk.

    (my hobby: http://777simulator.nl)
    (FSX/Sim-Avionics/OpenCockpits)

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    HI Henk,

    Thanks for the fast reply.

    Yes, my MC is connected to J1, and also the 5V power is connected in the correct order beside the 9 pin connector.
    I just checked the PSU, and there is power available when I turn the PSU on.

    I tested it with a Led diode and it lights up.
    How would I know if the PSU power is bad?

    Thanks,

    Shoumi

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    you might want to check your jumper settings on your display cards i belive if you go to oc website and read about the displays II card it says something about it there i think there are jumpers on the mc too...im still fairly new to this but i had some issues like this myself and messed with the jumpers seamed to help...to test them you can open controlador and hit start on the left is a few buttons to test the displays hit all on and all displays should show 8 then using the counter button it should start the sequence on your displays...please someone if im wrong chim in i dont want to give bad info..

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi guys,

    Thanks for your suggestions. Problem solved!
    The issue really was PSU load.

    I cut out a black and red cable from the PSU of my computer and hooked it up to the Mastercard, and Viola! The 7 segment displays worked like a charm!

    But, my dedicated PSU unit is working fine, because I checked it with a led diode and the diode did light up properly.
    So, I guess (as I read in one of the posts) a good working PSU needs to have enough load in order to function right.

    My question now would be....

    HOW DO I GIVE ENOUGH LOAD TO THE PSU SO THAT IT SUPPLIED ADEQUATE POWER TO ALL LINES?

    I guess the display I card needs power, but the display II card does not need power, it is powered by the 40 pin IDE cable from the Mastercard.

    If anyone can tell me how to put enough load on my PSU unit that would be great!

    Thanks again,


    Shoumi

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    here are some tutorials to convert atx power supplies to bench supplies:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Conv...gular-DC-Powe/

    http://www.magicratproductions.com/m....php?f=5&t=131

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5mA5CWFPrP4


    Please do read all the remarks regarding the potential lethal charge remaining in the caps of the PSU.

    good luck.

    Stef


    .
    Last edited by dnoize; 04-11-2009 at 03:06 AM.
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 04:09 PM
  2. IO Cards Problem setting up Display Card on Master Card
    By Barrykensett in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2009, 02:30 PM
  3. How many numbers with one display-ii card?
    By starmarky in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 04:32 PM
  4. Master Card: Is it working?
    By jmig in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 08:59 AM
  5. Open Cockpits Display Card.
    By droddis in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 12:15 PM