Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Jittery BU3086

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Jittery BU3086

    Hi,
    I hope someone can help...
    I recently added a BU3086 to control our yoke but have been plagued by the Y axis being rather jittery. The X Axis is smooth as silk.

    I have tried calibrating in FSUIPC but that has shown that, even at rest, there is some sort of input coming down the line. Thinking this might be down to the potentiometer I changed it - still the same problem. OK - changed the wiring (I use PC reset connector wire which has convenient plugs on the end) - still the same.

    Any thing I might be missing here other than a dodgy controller?
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Try reversing the inputs on the card and see if the same thing occurs to the X axis. If so, the card is bad. If not, it's something else.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You could ask Leo Bodnar, But the best test would be to disconnect any wiring going to the board in all. not just the Y axis. If the jitters are still there, then there is a good chance it would be the controller.

    If you then only connect the Y axis and the jitters appear, I would be willing to bet there is something causing noise on your pot cable. Try wrapping the cable around a Ferrite coil and see if that helps.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for your ideas guys. I've still got some shielding to try but if that doesnt work I'll get in touch with Leo.
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Leo Bodnar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by egsjsim View Post
    Hi,
    I hope someone can help...
    I recently added a BU3086 to control our yoke but have been plagued by the Y axis being rather jittery. The X Axis is smooth as silk.
    Hi,
    How old is your BU0836? You can find the serial number by running the configuration application http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/joy...figuration.exe

    There was a problem with jitter on version v1.17 of devices (shipped between 12 Sep 2007 and 12 Oct 2007.) This problem is fixed by activating axis number 7 (Dial) by either using it for one of the controls or putting a jumper (short) on it to force it to activate.

    Cheers
    Leo

  6. Thanks flyboy01 thanked for this post
  7. #6
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for getting in touch.

    I purchased it last year so I fairly sure it isn't that batch. I'll check it out using your config software though. I'll let you know.

    Thanks again,

    Richard
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

Similar Threads

  1. Jittery Goflight Rotary Encoders in FS9
    By ryanf in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 01:14 PM
  2. Jittery BU3086
    By GARich in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 02:23 PM