Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    WidevieW Approach to Heathrow

    ...via the BNN 4A arrival. Landing 27L.

    Last edited by Michael Carter; 04-11-2009 at 12:41 AM. Reason: This is the original version of the video
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Wideview & FSX

    Hi Micheal Hope you dont mind my asking question related to wideview. i am building a higher spec PC to try to run FSX and having tried wideview way way back i thought i'd give it another go mainly after seeing your progress. Thing i have to ask is regarding FSX, do you need a seperate copy of FSX on each PC running wideview, and if so does that mean i'll have to have at least 3 high spec PC to run this setup.. read a lot about triple head to go but must be missing the point somewhere because whereas wideview seems to give independant but linked views i.e LHS Middle & RHS tripple-head seems to stretch one view wide across 3 Monitors ... how does this compare for say looking across at a land feature if the pilot looks to his left or right over the wing views, sorry if this seems a silly question or if it's been asked before could anyone point me to the relevant posts Cheers ....Very Nice work by the way

  3. #3

    Airbus

    Waanabe,
    I have been using Wideview for years as well as TH2Go first off yees you have to have the FSX installed in each WV machine. This means that all addons etc as well. Secondly the FSX machines should relatively tthe same specs to ensure they have power to run the programs properly otherwise they could draw the scenery at different rates and it will appear out of sync, you could counter this by using default A/C views in your other screens and then even use a lesser powredc cpu to run it this definitely can save you $$ on CPUS. TH2Go simply stretches the front image to appear to give a wide front view and if you want any side views you must undock individual views and place them on other connected monitors, this will draw on rame rate if your CPU is not powerful enough. To get best side view and wing views etc use WV but unfortunaely it does require a much more elaborate setup. Hope this helped Mate.

    Tim

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TH2G is only going to stretch your forward view out in front of you. I guess you can stretch it as wide as you want with the zoom feature. But, as I stated in another post, I've seen these views stretched so much that the wings start coming into view and the look is very distorted. Similar to a fish-eye lens.

    Wideview gives you independant control over what you view on each monitor and can be customized through the .config file. You can also play around with the view setup using the WidevieW Manager and the keyboard.

    I would think that like FS9, you will still need a copy of FSX on each machine, and any scenery you wish to use will also have to be loaded onto each machine.

    The good news is that you can use the default C-172 for the client aircraft which allows FS(X) to run a bit better than say the DF727 or a PMDG aircraft if you had to run those on a client.

    My old dog of a computer I use for experimenting and panel building in the shop is running WV surprizingly well. The settings are turned down just a bit from the two better computers, but it has surprized me with its performance. It's only a 1.3Ghz Athlon processor using an ATI 9800 Pro AGP card. It's nearly six years old!

    The newer computer with a 2.0 Ghz Celeron processor, 2GB of ram, and a 1GB on-card memory ATI 2400HD card is not fairing as well running two views. It slows considerably as you may have noticed when pulling up to the stand. It was like a slide show out the two quarter views. It runs one view just as well as the server computer, but the server is tied up running the forward view, instrument panel, and engine stack.

    I need another two computers to complete this setup. One to relieve the computer running two views and another for the right 90 view.

    Quite honestly I'd be guessing at what computer specs you'd need to run WidevieW on an FSX system. It's much too processor intensive for the three systems I have running FS9, but two of the three computers I have are way above what was available when FS9 was released so they run pretty well (if I'm not running two views on the one system).

    The views in WidevieW are not linked. You make it look that way by the views you select to display. Only the systems are linked via the network.
    You can have an outside forward view and two aft views if that's what you wanted. Great if your flying a KC-135 and you happen to be the Boomer!

    TH2G is one outside view stretched across three monitors. Your computer never knows this. The TH2G makes it so. If you adjust the zoom using the TH2G you are just wrapping (warping?) the view from the sides around to the front. It's very distorted. There is no distortion using WidevieW, it's just a PITA to set up, but once it is, the view is fantastic.

    I saw parts of London on this video I had never seen from an airliner before using published procedures because you can't see left or right in a turn unless you change views. I don't really have the time for that during an approach so I just had to use what was in front of me before WidevieW.

    If you want the most from WidevieW, use one computer for each view. I'm stretching the very limits of one computer using two views, but it'll have to do until I can afford another system to relieve the other computer.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Wideview & FSX

    Hi Guys just to say big thank you for the info, i have FS2002 - 2004 and Have ahd FSX still in the Box since it Came out ..Like many got disconcerted when i realised my PC just was not up to it, so effectively its been sitting on the shelf, i had the opertunity and jumped at it to buy another new copy of FSX and Accel as a Combo from PC world and kicking my slef now cos i really need at least three.. but will keep my eye out.. Finally getting my high spec'ish PC built ( DIY ) and now it seems i am gonna have to look at bumping up the Specs of my other 2 slave machines ( Big Big Bucks Bummer ) in saying that, i knew this was not a cheap hobby so what the heck computer fairs here i come will be Downloading Wideview for FSX and Try to get back to where i was in the past with this setup 3 LCD 20" Monitors and 3 Pc's. it will initially be just to get things up and going before i add it to my Motion Cockp[it ( Still Work in progress Long Long Progress ) but am getting there . So Once again guys thanks for thr feedback it really is all appreciated Cheers

  6. #6

    Airbus

    I think I like Michael's explanation 10X better than mine. Definitely very well defined.

    Regards
    Tim

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is the original video

    This is the original version of the video.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another view from a TH2GO User-

    I use TH2GO for my Lear sim. I have 3 22" monitors. What has been said about the stretching aspect of TH2GO is certainly true however the distortion is not noticable at all with outside views to me. 2D Panel views are another story. They get horribly stretched and have to be resized. however, most of us probably are not using the Panel views on our outside visual displays. Second point I want to make about the stretching is that there is a good compromise I think. At least it works for me. If you have 3 22" monitors handling your outside forward view you will see more on each side (not really stretched). For instance. With single 22" monitor you may normally see just the width of the runway when lined up for departure. But with TH2GO you know see far off onto the grass either side as well as the runway. So this is not a stretch because you have added more horizontal viewing area. Now, if you add a TrackIR head tracking device, you can freely turn your head slightly to look all around. Put a button on your yoke setup to freeze/unfreeze the headtracking and another button to recenter the tracking. With this combinatioin you can have a very emmersive effect. Of course you just wont know if it suites you unless you try but you can probably pickup TH2GO and a TrackIR much cheaper than buying extra computers and extra copies of FSX. Then if you dont like it you can easily sell it and go the Wideview route. The advantage of TH2GO is that it is a much simpliar setup and can still be extremely emmersive (I can get a little vertigo in my pit!). The advantages of Wideview are that you can truely setup the other viewpoints from their exact proper angles. TrackIr allows you to have these views when you want them by tilting your head. The only time I really use that though is turning in the pattern in VFR. No real use for panning or side views in IFR.

    Just some thoughts from a TH2GO user as you make your decision.

    Mike, your pit is looking great BTW....Oh...and I LOVE your song choice!
    Scott

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    london england
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Wideview again

    Once agin thanks for the feedback guys ...have to say like most things nowadays Money plays a big issue in whatever direction you want to go with our sims... love the idea behind wideview and as i may have mentioned in the past i had it setup running under FS2004 but, then the PC overheads were'nt so high in terms of specs and graphics cards etc. the thing is now i'll re-evaluate Wideview again using FSX ( Tall Order finance wise ) and having had a look at the User Guide its a case of finding out client PC spec wise what i can get away with and still get reasonable framerates that will sorta do FSX justice ( i know i know FSX Nervana LOL ) but fingers crossed ...will be at another computer fair this weekend so bargin hunting is the name of the game.. Ultimatly 3 PC's and 3 x 22" monitors seem to be the goal... any Tips regarding client PC specs ?? taking on board the suggestion offered and tose mentioned in the Wideview user guide... My MAIN DIY PC will be AZUS pro Mobo,4 gig ram , q66000 processor , Artic Freezer 7 Cooler,8800 or 9800 gtx Graphics card with Lightscribe DVD + 2 x 500+ Hardrive with at present 650Watt PSU ... the matrox option becomes a little clearer in what it can do thanks to the info you guys posted so after testing wideview it will down to maybe overall costs ... Cheers Guys

Similar Threads

  1. Heathrow to construct third runway
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 06:35 PM
  2. More from Heathrow a a couple from Birmingham
    By Michael Carter in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 07:43 AM
  3. Heathrow EGLL Mega-Heathrow
    By Michael Carter in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-11-2008, 07:54 AM
  4. Dusseldorf to Heathrow...
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 06:55 PM