Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Motorised Throttle Quadrants

    I wonder could anybody help me with any information that might enable the construction of a (simple if possible - I know it is not!!) generic twin engined motorised throttle controller preferably driven by servos.

    I need this as a demonstration/experimental piece for some young aspirational kids who are already playing around with servos and are interested also in flight simulator construction. They were quite impressed with the autopilot and felt they would try to construct and integrate a motorised throttle. Keeping it simple and cheap will help motivate and mantain their continued interest.

    I would indeed be most grateful for any practical suggestions that might help me get this project off the ground on their behalf!

    Bill.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill.

    Phidgets makes a 100 Dollar 4 servo kit. that has 4 servo's and the controller card. Then using Alan Dyer's free software (Fs2Phidgets) it will interface with FS.

    You could use it for Engine 1 and engine 2 and Spoiler if you like, and maybe even use one of the servo's for a single Needle Instrument.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. Thanks Prof Bill thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just be careful, many people have expressed that the servos in the kit aren't sufficient to motorize airliner throttle levers. Many have purchased stronger servos for the task. The ones in the kit might work for a generic but still wanted to give you a heads-up in that regard.

  5. Thanks Prof Bill thanked for this post
  6. #4
    25+ Posting Member hyway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bill,
    I went through 6 motors before getting the setup right.
    I ended up installing a (clutch) slip plate on the motor that is adjusted by a single bolt.
    You should be able to hold the throttles and let the motors run without the throttles moving, this way you will never burn out a motor, strip a gear or blow up a circuit board.
    I have a real 747 throttle quadrant that has 4 built in clutches, 1 for each throttle all driven by a single gear spoke (similar to a pushbikes) I run a bike chain from this to a smaller cog and slip plate that the motor drives
    http://www.maxonmotor.com/
    Matthew Sheil
    747 Simulator
    http://www.747simulator.com.au

  7. Thanks Prof Bill thanked for this post
  8. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Many thanks to all for your excellent responses!
    I need to go away and investigate all your input as all are good advice and implementable solutions. I did not appreciate that I would get such quick responses so I have been caught slightly "on-the-hop" to coin an anglosaxon saying!

    Many thanks indeed to hyway, Trevor and Efe Cem Elci.

    Bill.

  9. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill,

    One thing to remember when your using servo's... Have your autothrottle switch be a double pole double throw switch so one side of the switch when engaged will power your servo's. this will prevent burning out the servo motors when you want to use the throttles by hand.

    when you engage the auto throttle, the servo's will then be powered.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. Thanks Geremy Britton, W9XE/Project777 thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. Throttle Quadrants
    By jsfboat in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 07:15 PM
  2. 7XX Throttle Quadrants
    By mounty in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 11:32 AM
  3. Itroduction and a question RE: throttle quadrants
    By MrRoper in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 02:40 PM
  4. FSC Motorised TQ with PMDG?
    By Daveanne in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 06:05 PM
  5. Question for allyou guys with Throttle Quadrants!!
    By dodiano in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 04:11 PM