Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Transponder for GA (Cessna)

    As I await the delivery of some rotary encoders (single and dual) so that I can get on to the next phase of my GPS build I have started to thinking about my next "project". Since I enjoyed on line flying with ATC (ie. VATSIM) prior to getting into this whole pit building craze, I thought a transponder might be worth tackling. Something along the lines of a Bendix King KT71.

    So off I have been the past several days "researching". I already have a GoFlight GF166A so I thought maybe another module of theirs would be the way to go. Then I got into the whole world of Opencockpit, IO Cards, SIOC, etc. A bit daunting to say the least but I am slowly getting my head around how all the pieces go together thanks to this site and others. Looks like it would be a long haul with a few bumps along the way. Seems to be a lot of pieces and I must admit I still haven't quite got figured out what programs need to be running when to get the SIOC "script" working in concert with FS2004.

    All this is a long way of asking the other GA builders here if you have done a transponder and which route did you take? Appreciate any thoughts, comments or opinions.

    Thanks, Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Buy this:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Bendi...QQcmdZViewItem

    or this
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/KING-...QQcmdZViewItem

    or that
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Gable...QQcmdZViewItem

    Get rid of unnecessary hardware and install a GF166 remote mount kit.

    1 Board: $65
    1 display:$40
    2 single encoders $26 (yours can do the job too if cheaper)
    That 's all you need

    Display the 7 seg digits behind a smoked plexi and use two encoders. One for the 2 left digits one for the 2 right digits.
    I did exactly that for my 737 TRX



    you already have the GF softwre installed which will avoid loading your processor with too many different softwares.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. Thanks Geremy Britton, NigelD, wannabeaflyer thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the suggestion Jack. Just so I understand this right I can purchase the board and 1-6 digit display module separately. Then I can connect 2 single rotary encoders to the board and using GF software "program" the 2 encoders to "tune" the 2 pairs of the xpndr code separately? I assume this means one encoder tunes the first pair between 00-77 and the seconder encoder does the same for the other pair of digits in the code.

    Also I assume I can use 2 simple momentary push buttons (ident and VFR) and a rotary switch (function selector) connected to my Bodnar board for the other features.

    If so, I'm liking this approach.

    Cheers,
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  5. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    YES to all.
    Try that:
    You have a GF166
    you can assign it to be a transponder
    Just go to the GF config and do it as a test.
    one side of the double decker encoder drive the 2 left digits the other one the 2 right digits
    Nothing to program just mouse clicks.

    The bare board (Check GF Remote kits on the GF site) has also two buttons input and two leds output that you can assign to Ident or many other functions.

    Just browse the GoFlight doc.

    you do not have to use another board.

    It is simple as 123
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Getting the Hang of GF Radios

    Jack,

    Between our posts I did exactly what you suggest..... converted my GF166 from a Com/Nav radio to a transponder and started experimenting. Works like a charm. Even used FSUIPC to assign one of the buttons as an Ident button. Unfortunately couldn't hook up with VATSIM ATC to see if it worked.

    Any way this looks like the way to go. A 166 board, a 6 digit display, some pushbuttons and an encoder and I will be ready to go.

    Thanks for getting me headed down this path. I think it is the one that best suits my skills, level of authenticity I want and most importantly my wallet.

    Cheers
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks

    As above, Jack, thanks from me. I was not aware of the remote mount kits, although I know some people who use goflight kit and swear by it. This is the way forward for me too!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  8. Thanks Jackpilot thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. ATC Transponder for FSX
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 06:30 AM
  2. New transponder
    By gokhotit in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 01:28 PM
  3. Transponder for GA (Cessna)
    By colt45 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 08:03 PM
  4. Transponder
    By bindook in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 03:07 AM