Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict spiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    303
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    encorder qestion??

    hi all i am gathering electronic compoments at the moment i have not dicided
    what i/o interface to use at the moment but a bit of resech that i have done
    can understand i whant to know every one uses the cts 288 i have found another it is BOURNS ECW-1J-B24 dose eny one know these?? and if so dose any one know with what i/o cards they do if not can some one look them up that knows about cts288 and let me know if they will do the job
    thanks

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    The CTS288 encoders will work well with the IOcards mastercard, I use them on my FCU and radio panels. I have not tried it with any other hardware, but from what I have read it should work with the bodnar cards too. On the IOcards matercard the CTS288 is connected to 2 inputs and a ground. Once defined in software it works very smoothly and accurately. Again, from what I have read it should work equally well on the bodnar cards.

    I have not used the Bourns encoder, but according the docs I have read it is a 2-bit "grey" encoder so it should work with the IOcards and Bodnar cards as well.

    BuddyM
    A320 Build
    Tampa,FL US

  3. Thanks spiro thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cts288

    hi spiro.....
    for my money, stick with the CTS288. it's not expensive, is excellent quality and quite rightly as BuddyM wrote, will work with your OC kit if you decide to go that road.
    i use these hooked up to BU0836X cards from leo and they work a dream.
    these are 3 euros from OC, what's the pricing on the Bourns?
    have a great day captain ... regards ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  5. Thanks spiro thanked for this post
  6. #4
    300+ Forum Addict spiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    303
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    thanks guys for the info ian as you know i was looking for a compoment supplyer here in greece and just found one a very nice guy and he is from my town!!!! he only has bourns encorders i asked him for cts288 but he dose not have them bourns will cost me about 2.50 euros my price because i told him about my sim and i lked the idea he sell them for 3.50euros so its a good price and no shipping costs so if they work it will be a life saver
    i orders all diffrent sorts of things from him that will be needed i will get them tommoro so i will send photos and info thank guys know the nexed qestion will be what interface to use i am thinkg of pigigets!!!!!!!!!!
    thank again guys

  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member sacad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    syria
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy Re: encorder qestion??

    first of all ,you guys answered almost all of my questions already (thanx!)
    BUT i'd like to know if i can use cts288 connected to ordinary keyboard would it work ? how to define it in the software (program it )? cuz i've tried it connected directly and used notepad (iam using keyboard ) and noticed it gives somthing like that when turened to the right
    "wwwwwwwfwfwfwfwwwwwwwfwfwfwfww" why it's not giving one letter for each direction ?!??!?! i mean it should use W's when turend to right and F's when to left ???

  8. #6
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encorder qestion??

    Connecting a rotary encoder to a keyboard will not give you useful results. A keyboard will try to interpret the encoder switching action as key presses. When an encoder switch is closed for more than about a second, the keyboard repeat function sends a stream of characters to the computer.

    If you want to use a rotary encoder you'll get much better results using an interface designed for it.

  9. Thanks sacad thanked for this post
  10. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encorder qestion??

    Hello Spiro

    If you going the BOURNS and OC way I think you should look at the one which end with ....C0006 - 24 detents and 1/4 cycle.
    I believe this one also miss the integrated switch which is nice to have - check: http://www.bourns.com/pdfs/ECW1J.pdf

    I may be wrong of course.

    Good luck anyway.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

Similar Threads

  1. off set qestion??
    By spiro in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 04:12 AM
  2. cpu qestion???
    By spiro in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-25-2009, 08:05 PM
  3. Ga sim qestion
    By spiro in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 07:34 AM
  4. Ga sim qestion
    By spiro in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 07:21 AM
  5. rotary encorder and switch?
    By spiro in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 03:11 PM