Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wolfenbuettel, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Switch Position, LED & FSUIPC-Offset runs out of sync

    Hello,

    I tried a first simple test with my USB-Expansion, Mastercard an Input- and Output-Adapter. The test was to switch the FlightDirector in FS9 and send the status to a LED. No problem at all. But:

    After a few times switching, the LED runs out of sync with the switch position AND the status of the FSUIPC-offset. This seems strange to me because the LED reads directly the bit-value of the corresponding FSUIPC-offset. It seems the the switch bounces a bit, but this is not noticable in the controllador.exe. I found out that the result changes with different MasterCard_Refresh-Values in the IOcard.ini (slower=less bouncing of the contact). But sooner or later the error appears again.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What kind of switches are you using?

    Break-before-make should be used. Also called non-shorting.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wolfenbuettel, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For my first test I used the big switches from OC. I tried a big ON-OFF and a (ON)-OFF-(ON). The same in both cases. Because there is absolutely no contact-bouncing when checked with the OC-control-program, I think the problem is somewhere else but not in the switches.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,
    In order to help you you should provide some more details...
    What software are you using? IOCards 'basic' or SIOC, which aircraft are you trying to control the FlightDirector, which FSUIPC offset are you using?

    regards,
    Nico

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wolfenbuettel, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Nico,

    I use the standard IO-Software without SIOC. Simply the config- and controlprogram on a Laptop, networked via WLAN to the FS9-PC.

    I used the standard FSUIPC-offset $2ee0, length 4, On= B+0, Off=B-0 for FD On/Off. I tried it with the standard FS9 Beech Baron just for testing the communication via WideFS. It works well besides the effect of the unsynced offset/LED/switch from time to time.

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    It is a long time ago I used IOcards basic, but the problem might be the 'dual' behaviour of this fsuipc offset, being as well a control (sending values into the simulator) as an indicator (a state coming out of the simulator).

    I'm not sure if you have specified that well in IOcards basic, or whether that is even possible there.

    In my opinion using SIOC is a good alternative and worth while trying..

    The script below deals with your application, you only have to adjust (with the Notepad editor) the input number (of Var 3) and the output number of Var 4) to the ones that you are using, save the script as FD.txt.

    Then (after installing SIOC3.5 package), run config_sioc.exe, Import (as TXT) FD.txt, save as FD.ssi.

    Change in sioc.ini, the parameter CONFIG_FILE to FD.ssi and make sure FSUIPC is enabled.

    Then Run SIOC and off you go!

    // begin of script
    Var 1 name FD_OUT Link FSUIPC_OUT Offset $2EEO Length 4

    Var 2 name FD_IN Link FSUIPC_IN Offset $2EEO Length 4
    {
    &FD_Led = &FD_IN
    }

    Var 3 Link IOCARD_SW Input 23 Type I
    {
    &FD_OUT = v3
    }

    Var 4 name FD_Led Link IOCARD_OUT Output 92
    // end of script

    regards,
    Nico

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wolfenbuettel, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you very much, Nico, for your detailed answer.

    I will give SIOC a try. But i thought that it is absolutely usual to use offsets as an input and output at the same time (otherwise there must be an offset each for incoming status-change and outgoing indicator, which I think is rather unusual?).

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by starmarky View Post
    But i thought that it is absolutely usual to use offsets as an input and output at the same time (otherwise there must be an offset each for incoming status-change and outgoing indicator, which I think is rather unusual?).
    No it is only usual for rotary encoder values, such as heading, course, frequency and so on, not for switches and status of switches.

    In the latter case you normally have two offsets (i'm not talking FSUIPC but interfacing technology in general), one as control for input and another as state as output. Note that you cannot be sure that if you put the switch to 1, that the FD switch in the panel also becomes 1... (otherwise you had better connect the led directly to your physical switch).

    And also if the physical switch is 1 and the led is on, what hapepns if you click the FD switch back to 0 in the panel with the mouse? Then the led has to go out (value 0) while your physical switch is still is in the 1 position....

    I don't know how FSUIPC deals with this 'problem' in offset $2ee0, again this is more a general remark about interfacing.

    Nico

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Same here...

    I get same kind of odd behaviour with right 3green led.
    It goes off when I switch seatbelt sign on. Crazy, or what?
    Maybe I finally go for SIOC also.

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wolfenbuettel, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by kiek View Post
    Note that you cannot be sure that if you put the switch to 1, that the FD switch in the panel also becomes 1... (otherwise you had better connect the led directly to your physical switch).
    Again, thank you Nico.
    It is not clever to connect the LED directly to the switch because the FD could go off due to other events in the cockpit without any switching of the knob. So the FD-status for the LED has to come directly from the offset, not from the switch position. A usual case for a lot of announciators I think.

    In 1 hour I make a journey to Latvia for 5 days. Then I'll test SIOC and continue this thread.

    Regards from germany
    Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fsuipc offset problem??
    By spitfire9 in forum Phidgets Interface & Alan Dyers' FS2Phidget
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 02:44 PM
  2. Using 12 position switch as rotary encoder on BU0836X
    By Masterploxis in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 06:41 PM
  3. Help with and FSUIPC offset please
    By TasKiNG in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2008, 12:29 PM
  4. Fsuipc offset
    By Oter3 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 08:29 AM
  5. FSUIPC offset use in pmSystems
    By luisgordo in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 04:10 PM