Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: korry switches.

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    korry switches.

    i have all real korries for a 737 mip. i also have fds k1's on hand.

    seems like a pain in the *** the wire the real ones at 28 volts etc.

    i could change the bulbs over in the master caution/fire pushbuttons on the glare from 28v to something low if poss so my phidgets or sys cards can light them up. that would solve one thing.

    let me get this right....i could use phidgets to run the korries, but phidgets would only be used to open a switch for higher voltage to actually run the lights.

    nice to have the real stuff....but what a drama.

    second question....how does one remove them from the metal mip without damage given that they are sort of pressed in and have a little lip holding them in? i might have to sell them.

    anyone played with these?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    All of my indicators a Korry. Pull out the light cap and use an Allen head or hex head key to unscrew the base of the assembly. DO NOT remove it!

    It will come apart in three pieces. The front and rear halves and the mount.

    Be sure you reassemble correctly and get the correct side up. The light cap only fits one way.

    Write more when I get home.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You could replace all of the Korry 387 bulbs with 7333's operating at 5VDC, but they are almost double the price of the 387's. $0.42 compared to $0.97 each.

    They also draw 60ma each; 20ma more than the 387 at 28VDC. There is no replacement LED for the Korry indicator that is under 12VDC, and those are almost $4 a pop.

    If you're going to play with real aircraft equipment, you'll have to make some choices about where to spend your money. Hmmm, bulbs or 24/28 VDC power supply? Power supplies are dirt cheap compared to replacing every bulb in every Korry indicator in your cockpit.

    I've been down this road more than a few miles.

    FDT and OC cards can use external supplies to illuminate these indicators. I do not know anything about Phidgets. Relays can be used, but that's a lot of relays for a 737 cockpit. More than 130 Korry's aboard.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    think ill flog em if i can get em out.

    thanks for the help mike. love that seven twenty seven mate, as a kid i loved those babies...the noise the shape, that high tee shaped tail, just...everything.

    727 is the glory days of airline travel i reckon. you had to dress up, the food was awesome, the hosties were hot, you got treated like a king.

    now..backpackers with dreadlocks wear their pijamas on the flight, the food is shite, the hosties are canteen ladies and if you dont play their game they treat you like dirt.

    oh well.

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I remember all of that too. Pity it's not the same today, I miss it. Airports today look more like a downtown Greyhound bus station.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    was just reading that the 16/16 cards i have can control up to 30v and 2 amps.

    it seems the digital output just acts as a switch to ground.

    so...each little connection on the board is just a switch (sorta relay thingy)

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Depending upon which Korry Boeing used in the 737, the pins you want to use are #1 & #3. But, the wiring diagram is right on the housing.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737ng korry structure diagram

    This might help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    thanks heaps guys.

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    so...run with the 24 volts then psu?...for added bulb life etc?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Mounting Korry and Jay-El switches to Panel
    By Atomic_Sheep in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 10:17 AM
  2. Which korry switch/switches does the a320 use?
    By ScottyPcGuy_03 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 11:55 PM
  3. Korry 318
    By cdbaron in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 11:26 AM
  4. Making Korry switches and Annunciators
    By Matt Olieman in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 11:04 PM