Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    436
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus Auto Trim


    Finally got the auto trim installed and working with the USB DCMotor card from IO Cards. The gear box/motor was a great find. It is very sturdy and is of Japanese origin and should be available at most hobby shops. I have used the 6 gears which seems about right, and powered it with 5 volts.

    Regards.............Brian W.
    Last edited by Matt Olieman; 03-24-2009 at 06:42 AM.

  2. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Brian.

    Does the motor act as a servo? Can you do a manual trim?

    Sorry got to ask the dumb questions

    Matt Olieman

  4. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice job Brian!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    436
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Michael and thank you Matt for putting the pictures in. I have not figured out how to get them in from the photo page on this site although have no problem with PhotoBucket .
    Matt, the pot is connected to the board and acts as a servo basically. You can move the trim and it will then move back, so I have not as yet programmed it to disconnect, so that it can be used manually. More work to do on the SIOC. It does have a clutch which enables you to use manual trim.
    Hope this helps........it is one of those fiddly projects we tend to leave till last !
    Cheers...........Brian W.

  6. Thanks warvet, Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  7. #5

    Airbus

    Very cool Brian,
    So that lil motor has power to spin both trim wheels? Very interesting setup for sure, curious to hear how it pan out.

    regards
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. auto throttle
    By Spatate in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 06:16 PM
  2. Airbus Type Controls & Trim
    By ryanf in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-24-2007, 12:21 PM
  3. Auto pilot in FSX problems.
    By brianwilliamson in forum MyCockpit Online Flying Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2007, 03:34 PM
  4. Auto Throttle
    By garyk007 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 01:19 PM