Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    BU0836 Basic Question

    A Simple question from a simple mind (when comes to this sort of thing anyhow!) I am trying to connect a BU0836 to a yoke assembly with the X Axis pot going to Analog Input pin set 1 and and Y axis pot going to pin set 2.

    The axis which connects to pin set 1 works along the X Axis when viewed on the PC yet the Y Axis pot doesnt appar to work when attached to pin set 2 (or any of the other pin sets). The Y axis pot works (along the X axis) when attached to pin set 1 so there isnt a problem with the pot.

    The pots have been working fine without a ground but I have tried without one but also with a ground daisychained to a spare ground pin.
    I hope I have explained this well enough .

    What am I missing here?

    TIA
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    have you tried wiring up the X and Y axis to pin 7 & 8 instead of 1 & 2 and make sure that each GND is wired up independantly to each channel.

    I am using pin 6,7,8 for my throttle quadrant each channel i have wired up independantly and ive used my GND on each pin.

    BU0836 works in mysterious ways lol, but its a blimmin good card!

    Just play around the pin configuration until you get the result you want, try using pairs, try 7-8 forst and work backwards, i advise against daisy chaining GND on axis inputs, though its fine for COLUMNS/ROWS inputs.

    Still stuck after that, then PM me!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  3. Thanks GARich thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    Check this thread here - I had exactly that issue and you do need to wire each pot completely separately.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=15544
    CH Yoke
    CH Pedals
    2 Saitek TQ`s
    Opencockpits multiradio
    GF LGT + T8
    BU0386x and custom autopilot control panel
    Basic pedestal and mip for generic GA sim in progress..

  5. Thanks GARich thanked for this post
  6. #4
    25+ Posting Member GARich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys - all sorted with a couple of ground wires
    ========================
    www.seething-airfield.com/sim/
    ========================

Similar Threads

  1. Basic help with BU0836 card
    By madladuk in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 03:08 PM
  2. A320 Basic Lighting Question
    By Atomic_Sheep in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 09:44 AM
  3. Basic MasterCard Question
    By SenorPoquito in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 06:18 PM
  4. BU0836 + Diodes
    By flatdog in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 03:37 PM
  5. Basic Sol7 question.
    By 737aqua in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 10:24 PM