Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unhappy Flight Deck Software - Glass cockpit

    Just trying to make a choice on a Glass Cockpit software package for my 737 sim.

    I have discounted PM as I don't fancy selling my house to finance it !!!

    I am looking for something that will interface easily with my Phidgets LED card, USB cards and FSX and works as a server over my 4 PC rig- as well as providing an FMC and MCP (to cover me until I purchase the hardware)

    Although fantastic and great value - I am not going to go with FSXpand as it does not feature the logic I would need to run as my primary software,

    I have been looking at the following....

    http://www.flightdecksoftware.com/
    and
    http://www.sim-avionics.com/index.asp?page=editions

    As you will see it appears that they are available in different editions which rise in price the more functions you require.

    I was keen on the Flightdeck "Pilot" version at 199 euro (+vat).

    However.....It turns out you also need to purchase the "core" entry level package for 99 euro then pay the 199 to upgrade to the pilot package.

    This seems a little odd (and unfair/unclear) when veiwing the website.

    I have attempted to find out from Sim Avionics if they operate the same policy, however I am not so keen on them as 2 emails and 1 week later I have not had a reply.

    Does anyone have any experience with these or any other thoughts and suggestions, that might help?

    Thanks

    Jon

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Jon,

    the Flightdecksoftware suite is a good choice to consider because it is developed for the B737. There are still some "To do" issues but all the finished parts are working as they should.
    The version you need depends on the needs in relation to the hardware you use.
    If you only need the PFD, ND and MCP you need the pilot version (The Eicas is coming on). In that case, a bunch of MCP/Efis hardware is already supported.
    If you own an overhead too, then you need the logic software as well. That consists of 2 parts: the logic itself + the hardware interfacing part of your choice, regarding ofcourse the brand of the electronic part of your overhead. Can be Flighdecksolutions, Opencockpits, etc. ...
    Hope this takes away the confusion about the versions. Feel free to ask any information.

    Greetz,

    Dirk

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Krefeld, Germany
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Jon,

    I use the Sim Avionics Software (Pilot B777 and B737).
    If you only need the Pilot B737, then you buy only 1 Pack.
    The Pilot Pack includs all you need for a flightdeck from a Captain.
    - System Logic
    - CDU Captain
    - MCP
    - EFIS Captain
    - PFD/ND Captain
    - EICAS
    - Sound
    Did you try the Demo version?
    Feel free to ask.

    Regards,
    Stefan

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks - how easy is it to get Sim-Avionics up and running with my Phidgets LED card - I am only looking for it to light the annunciators, warnings & six pack on my MIP - not worried about overhead for now.

    Jon

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Krefeld, Germany
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    sorry, that i don´t know. Please ask in the Sim-Avionics board.

    Regards,
    Stefan

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I bought the full license of Sim-Avionics last year in may. There was a version for 737 foreseen but we 're not much further then the overhead and some adapted changes for the MCP. S-A was originally written for the 777 and even on that there seem to be a lot of issues, as far as I could read on their forum.
    Finally, I have made a switch to FDS. If you are using Phidgets then you will be happy with what you can see on the linked page.

    http://www.flightdecksoftware.com/co...rdware-support

    Greetz,

    Dirk

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member jongas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    123
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by dvincent View Post
    Hi,

    I bought the full license of Sim-Avionics last year in may. There was a version for 737 foreseen but we 're not much further then the overhead and some adapted changes for the MCP. S-A was originally written for the 777 and even on that there seem to be a lot of issues, as far as I could read on their forum.
    Finally, I have made a switch to FDS. If you are using Phidgets then you will be happy with what you can see on the linked page.

    http://www.flightdecksoftware.com/co...rdware-support

    Greetz,

    Dirk

    Thanks Dirk, I do feel a little annoyed that they want you to buy the basic version before you can upgrade to the pilot version.

    S-A can allow you to buy the package you want, rather than needing to upgrade from the base package. The website is very misleading - it does not state this fact anywhere, however it is what I was advised after emailing them........

    If I could go straight in at the pilot level, I would buy it in a flash.

    Thanks again

    Jon

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Jon,

    you can buy the version you want. If you want to start with the pilot version, you can do so. There is absolutely no need to start with the basic. I started with the dual.
    If you are on the FlightdeckSoftware website, you can click in the upper right corner on the "buy now" button and you will get a page with the versions and a comparison between them + below each column the price for each version.

    That was clearly a misunderstanding.

    Greetz,

    Dirk

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think this is a misunderstanding too.

    As far as i know you can buy any suite you wish. Upgrading to the next suite is 150 euros.

    from their website:
    Upgrades to next version are available for 150 € ex VAT (dual to suite is 250 € ex vat).
    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,

    To make things clear. There is a difference between the Glass Flight Deck product line and the Flight Deck Core program.

    Glass Flight Deck simulates all the gauges, the CDU's and the MCP. This suite can be bought seperately in different versions, and can be used with or without the Flight Deck Core program (if you have e.g. a CPFlight MCP you need the Flight Deck Core too).

    Flight Deck Core simulates all the system logic contained in the overhead panel, the MIP and pedestal. There are software panels available for users without hardware. This is all contained in the basic version. Next to that the software can be extended with hardware modules to add hardware integration to the software, so you can use your own hardware with the software.

    Hope this clarifies a bit.

    Best regards,

    Bart Devriendt
    Flight Deck Software

  11. Thanks dnoize thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. Glass Cockpit Software
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 01:54 AM
  2. Glass Cockpit Software question
    By STARBOUNDPHOENIX in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 10:21 PM
  3. Glass cockpit software.
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 07:54 PM
  4. Software for a flight deck project.
    By strychninekiss in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 10-06-2008, 06:05 PM
  5. Glass Flight Deck 737NG Suite
    By andarlite in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 05:57 PM