Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Frameless Monitors

    I just spent the weekend at the International Airshow in Avalon, Australia and while wet and windy, it was still a spectacle of flight. Once again I saw monitors that sim builders could only dream of. 32" LCD's completely frameless! Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to ask where they came from (nor how much they would cost!). Here is a promotional photo of them from the airshow website. I wonder does anyone else have information on them?

    Ken.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Those look great. I've never seen frameless monitors anywhere. I wonder what holds them together or how the edges are protected. Those are perfect for the sim builder.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are we talking completely frameless or a very thin frame compared to the monitors in common use today? You'd think it would be the latter...

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey guys, ive seen this stuff before!

    Check this out, the screens mentioned (or what you are talking about) are SEAMLESS VIDEO PANELS, you can put them in just about any variation to make widescreen video walls, video screens, video decor etc, and again would be excellent for simming, but it all comes at a HEFTY PRICE!!

    http://www.seamlessdisplay.com/products_radius320.htm

    This is how it works:

    http://www.seamlessdisplay.com/co_technology.htm
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. Thanks W9XE/Project777 thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Efe Cem Elci View Post
    Are we talking completely frameless or a very thin frame compared to the monitors in common use today? You'd think it would be the latter...
    Efe, these monitors are completely seemless. Butt them together edge to edge and there is no border. Absolutely sweet! I've seen the Seemless Display website Alex pointed to and perhaps that's the system these guys were using but they just looked like ordinary LCD's with glass panel right to the edge. Thales Group was the aerospace company displaying them along with their warfare simulation systems.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  8. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Good info on the site and everything but the price.

    I guess if you have to ask the price you can't afford it.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    this might be in everyones price range.

    http://images.google.com.au/imgres?i...a%3DN%26um%3D1

    ive seen these fresnel lenses get pretty big so if u have 3 or even 2 large screens u could use this method to remove the frame , i guess the bigger the lense the bigger the distance between the lense and the monitor.

  10. #9
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonesy22 View Post
    this might be in everyones price range.

    http://images.google.com.au/imgres?i...a%3DN%26um%3D1

    ive seen these fresnel lenses get pretty big so if u have 3 or even 2 large screens u could use this method to remove the frame , i guess the bigger the lense the bigger the distance between the lense and the monitor.
    Thanks Jonesy, but I've experimented with Fresnel lenses before with poor results. They're great when viewed absolutely dead in front, but as soon as you move slightly off center the image is distorted or lost. Cheap yes, effective no. There was a system called Bugeye which was marketed some years back using fresnel lenses in front of 3 LCD monitors but i believe it went out of business due to lack of interest.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Considering the ridiculous price difference between 3 LCDs and and 3 seamless LCDs, I just put up with bezels. You could build a lot of simpit for the price of one of those seamless.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 3 monitors
    By John Patty in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 10:29 AM
  2. Two Monitors for GC
    By vybhav in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 11:32 AM
  3. EIGHT MONITORS on one PC!!!!!!!!
    By manhattan in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 09:21 PM
  4. USB to VGA MONITORS!!!
    By manhattan in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 11:35 AM
  5. How Many Monitors?
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 02:04 PM