Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: AC power help

  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AC power help

    I have my entire sim on a a single dedicated 20 amp circuit. I bought a new PJ and when i run it on the same line, i get LOTS of noise in the picture. If i use it in the house or run a 75' ext cord from an outlet in the house out to my PJ, the picture is perfect! Does this mean, a) i have to much on one line, bad gnd, or should i just buy a power line conditioner made for home theater's?

    ANy ideas???

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sounds like your are getting 60Hz hum on the line that the sim is on. I'm surprised you are not picking up noise on the 75' run.

    Try another circuit in the house if you don't want to keep using the 75' cord.

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    Sounds like your are getting 60Hz hum on the line that the sim is on. I'm surprised you are not picking up noise on the 75' run.

    Try another circuit in the house if you don't want to keep using the 75' cord.
    I think i may have to buy one of those expensive line conditioners. I would have thought that the PJ's electronics would have done a better job of filtering the line voltage.

  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Noise is usually caused by something else that is running on that circuit. I've had problems connecting things to the same circuit as the refrigerator or dishwasher and WHAMO you've got noise when it runs.

    It's not the amount of juice your using that causes it, it's what is on the same circuit that is causing it.

    Line conditioner sounds like something I would try.

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Also, do you have any loops in the line where it is coiled? That will create an impedance loop which can cause the problem you've described. Other things to avoid include flourscent light fixtures. The ballast in them puts out a lot of EMI. A line conditioner will work but you should first remove any excess line from the circut. The shorter the run, the better. For very low voltages, 5 volts or less, a loop or coil is not bad, but for your main power feed, I'd make sure there were none.

Similar Threads

  1. POWER?
    By skyline223 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 04:26 AM
  2. MCP Power up
    By ktroemer in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 07:20 AM
  3. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 03:21 PM
  4. PC power Supply
    By BlackWidow in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 10:50 PM
  5. Power On
    By Bob Reed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 08:51 PM