Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Minimum system requirement for 2,3,4...etc computers

    I'm new to this and want to build a sim. How old of a system can you use for the secondary computers to run things like the MIP displays, sound, etc. I see some really cheap systems less than $100 on eBay. Basically how old of a system can you go and still make all the add-on software work? Any help would be fantastic. I plan on using FS 2004, with Window XP on the main system which will be my High End main computer.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have an old Pentium II - 333mhz running one of my secondary displays. I have Project Magenta which utilizes OpenGL - so I needed to make sure the video card was compatible.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. Thanks FlyHanover thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bring me your tired, weak, huddled masses of CPU's.....

    Hello, I use almost all old, recycled computers with as much RAM as possible. I use anywhere from 300 mHz PIII, to 550 mHz PIII.

    I use one PIII 550 as a FS server in one of my sims, and use the 300, and 450's for instruments, VATSIM, and such. My other two sims use a 1.8 gHz, and a 2.4 Ghz for servers, and PIII for the clients.

    All the Client PIII computers use Windows 2000 (SP4), (including the one server), with the other servers being Windows XP (SP3), with no problems between the two "different" OS's.

    I plan on utilizing Linux soon, and heard that I might be able to link up all the old PIII computers together to form a mini "Super Computer".

    I also use recyled monitors (CRT, LCD), mice, speakers, and keyboards. Suprising what people will give away when they hear you'll take anything.

  5. Thanks FlyHanover thanked for this post
  6. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are some builders that use one or two computers for their full cockpit.

    Matt Olieman

  7. Thanks FlyHanover thanked for this post
  8. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank You.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 beta minimum hardware
    By Deesystems in forum Microsoft Windows 7
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 09:37 AM
  2. FSX "This graphics card does not meet minimum ..." HELP !!!!
    By ibennett in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-12-2010, 10:46 PM
  3. More networked computers or fewer computers?
    By Suggy in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-10-2006, 09:24 PM
  4. More networked computers or fewer computers?
    By Darren Sugden in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2006, 06:00 PM