Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    open cockpits radio question

    I'm going to order a couple of open cockpits COM 737 radio's but can't find any dimensions on there website. Can someone tell me what size of hole I need to cut will be and what the outside dimensions of the actual exposed head is I would really appreciate it. We are taking the MIP off this afternoon to do some work and it would be great if we could cut these holes at the same time.

    Thanks in advance

    Shawn

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Shawn,
    I understand your wanting to cut the hole but I would wait until you have the unit in your hands. Then measeure twice, cut once. If someone does give you the measeurements, they may be off from what you get. Being patient for parts is one of the hardest things to do in cockpit building for me.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Normally I would be happy to wait for the actual parts but we need to move the simulator to its new home next week. Once we put it back together its not going to be an option to take her apart to get the MIP back out. We are planning to cover the holes for the time being as we don't expect to order the radio for another 3 weeks or more.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If someone can give me these measurements I'll buy them a beer

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Shawn,


    As soon as I can I will get some measurements (mm) from my radio heads and post them. Be advised I will try my best to get you good data, but don't blame me if later on you have problems , just trying to help. I had to wait until I got them to start building my radio console (no measurements anywhere). By the way I don't drink beer, so, a simple thank you is more than enough for me.

    Take care,

    Pedro.

  6. Thanks Shawn thanked for this post
  7. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Pedro

    I really appreciate the help and wouldn't dream of blaming someone if the measurements don't work out. I realize that cutting the holes ahead of time might come back to bite us but in our situation it's a much better option than trying to deal with it later on.

    Thanks a million Pedro

    Shawn

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Shawn,

    Hope this helps. I measured both my COM and NAV radios to be sure and got the same numbers. I guess is better than nothing, and still a good reference for builders. You could probably go 64.5 mm or 64 mm since it was very close, it is your call.

    Regards,

    Pedro

    Keep 'em Flying and Enjoy the Ride


    ODYSSEY NG
    737 Simulator
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Pedro

    What are the chances that you could measure the size of the hole you've cut to insert the radio's into your panel. Sorry to be a pain in the arse but I'm assuming that the faceplate of the radio must overhang the actual hole that is required by a bit.

  10. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Don't cut the holes any larger than 4-31/32" x 2-5/16", 126.2mm x 58.7mm.

    These radios are for rack mounting, not panel mounting. They can be panel mounted if your holes are squared up though.

    Plan on enlarging the mounting holes for Dusz fasteners. They're pretty small.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 03-15-2009 at 08:53 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  11. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How about this one,

    This is probably what you are looking for. It is usually best to cut smaller and have extra material to play with. Let me know if you need anything else, I am here to help.


    Respectfully,

    Pedro
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. Thanks Bug738 thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Open Cockpits FMC......HELP PLEASE !!!!!!
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 08:52 AM
  2. Open Cockpits shipping to the USA
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 08:59 PM
  3. Open Cockpits MCP Please Help.
    By flightsox in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-29-2009, 12:25 PM
  4. Open Cockpits FMC/CDU kit
    By Daveanne in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 04:49 PM
  5. Open Cockpits
    By garyk007 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 04:06 AM