Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Goldmember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question 737 Eicas monitor

    I'm struggling with the Eicas monitor. When I planned my cockpit, I figured I would take a 17"-ish monitor to put it behind the center panel to cover the Eicas, flaps indicator and backup instruments all together. In practice, the switches for autobrake, fuel flow etcetera are in the way. It means this monitor would sit 5-7 cm behind the panel, which gives the illusion more of a peep show instead of a cockpit

    Any tips on this?

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site



    This way you are loosing only the top stand-by , which is not used anymore in new 737s



    The flap gauge can be incorporated into the PM Engine DU (EICAS)
    If you want it in the panel use the Simkit gauge (USB plug and play) inexpensive and works well.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. Thanks Geremy Britton, autocadplease, Goldmember thanked for this post
  4. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Goldmember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    252
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It's been a while but here's how I finally solved it. The best fit is a 14,1" widescreen. The challenge though is that this is a very rare monitor size. It's being used in laptops. So I took a 15,6" widescreen monitor and replaced the panel with a 14,1" I bought from a laptop repair shop. The connection to LCD panels is a standard 30 pins flatcable for the data and 1 or 2 wires for the backlighting. If you take a monitor with the same resolution and the same amount of backlight wires, it appears to work.

    The nice thing about this solution is that you don't have to rotate the monitor (which you have to do with a 12" because it's partly behind the standby instruments). A rotated monitor gives a very poor horizontal viewing angle so either the captain or the F/O can't read it. The key is however that you choose to have the standby instruments simulated in the software and display them behind the holes in the panel. See pix.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Arjen
    -----
    "There are only two things I can't stand in this world. People who are intolerant of other people's cultures... and the Dutch." (Nigel Powers in Goldmember)

  5. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think for eicas1 (Upper EICAS) you will find a 17" ish monitor useful, and for the eicas2 (Lower EICAS) you will find a 10" (ish) monitor useful.
    tnpoon

Similar Threads

  1. PM eicas display with aerosoft eicas hardware
    By npbosch in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 08:37 AM
  2. PM eicas display with aerosoft eicas hardware
    By npbosch in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 08:37 AM
  3. Monitor size for PFD, MD, EICAS and computer type.
    By apopilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 01:33 PM
  4. monitor for eicas
    By BOINET jean luc in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 09:37 AM
  5. EICAS Monitor
    By Eddie Armaos in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2004, 03:12 PM

Tags for this Thread