Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AFT OVH - PMSys 122

    Hi,

    When AFT OVH is activated in the software there appear several (amber) failure indications and flags
    in the PFD : ATT - HDG - VERT
    in the ND : MAP.

    Can any more advanced pilot tell me what are the required settings in the AFT OVH and how to overcome these failures, software-wise for the moment, because my hardware AFT OVH is NOT connected yet (being built at the moment).

    Thanks beforehand
    Kind regards
    TONY

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member airbus319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sounds like the IRS is set to off or not aligned Tony,

    You should be able to align the IRS via your CDU in the PosInit page, basically you need to tell the aircraft where it is LAT long.

    Sorry I cant go into more detail I need to get back to work.

    David.

  3. Thanks Tony thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    First enter position on CDU.
    Second allign the IRS.

    This is how it works.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    Hi,

    When AFT OVH is activated in the software there appear several (amber) failure indications and flags
    in the PFD : ATT - HDG - VERT
    in the ND : MAP.

    Can any more advanced pilot tell me what are the required settings in the AFT OVH and how to overcome these failures, software-wise for the moment, because my hardware AFT OVH is NOT connected yet (being built at the moment).

    Thanks beforehand
    Kind regards
    TONY
    With best regards,
    Achilles
    http://www.thefsps.com

  5. Thanks Tony thanked for this post
  6. #4
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys,

    Positioning in CDU puts the plane off place. Must be inaccurate Scenery software I guess.

    In the .lgc file I have set both irsselectors to (1) ON and this did the trick.

    Kind regards
    TONY

  7. #5
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AFT OVH - PMSys 122 - IRS DC FAIL

    Hi Captains,

    My AFT OVH is now connected with PMSys.
    IRS system seems to work fine with the exception that both IRS (L+R) give a "DC FAIL" on ground as well as in the air.

    In the OVH I have only wired for battery.
    Battery is on and selector is on BAT.

    What other selectors/positions may be envolved ?

    Kind regards
    Tony

  8. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    80
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    Hi,

    When AFT OVH is activated in the software there appear several (amber) failure indications and flags
    in the PFD : ATT - HDG - VERT
    in the ND : MAP.

    Can any more advanced pilot tell me what are the required settings in the AFT OVH and how to overcome these failures, software-wise for the moment, because my hardware AFT OVH is NOT connected yet (being built at the moment).

    Thanks beforehand
    Kind regards
    TONY
    Hallo Tony,

    According to the 737NG CBT that have a copy of, you start by entering the position in the CDU Pos page. Then set both IRS selectors to NAV. They will light white. Then after 5 to 10 minutes, depending on latitude you are, they will extinguish and the ND and PFD will be active. There are many possible error conditions, but this for a standard procedure after they have been off.

    Best regards,

    --pim

  9. #7
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Pim,

    The IRS works as it should, except for these DC FAIL warning lights that keep on burning.
    If nobody else has this problem it must be due to a faulty wiring in my set-up.

    Kind regards
    Tony

  10. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    80
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hallo Tony,

    I am still in the process of wiring the AFT panel, so I cannot check what you are seeing. The pmSystems interface shows, however, that DCON turns off after about 5 seconds.

    I hope to have my stuff going the next couple of days - depending on the weather. The nicer the weather - the less time I spend on my flightdeck.

    Best regards,

    --pim
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Tony,
    I'm not sure which aircraft type you talking about, but I think for a B738 its the same as the B744. You must set the power to STND BY Power in order let work the system correctly.
    BAT will drain the battery.

    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  12. #10
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michel,

    Standby power is on AUTO all the time for my 737-700 NG.
    I will check the wiring of the DC selector as well.

    When turning the IRS MSU to NAV, the DC power test is OK.

    In a way am happy it does not work as it should be right away.
    Would not be that much fun.

    Kind regards
    Tony


    PS How is the motion 738 NG simulator at Bruges performing these days ?
    Is the AFT OVH working there ?

Similar Threads

  1. working a real gauge without PMSys.
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 10-03-2008, 10:22 PM
  2. One CPU for FS9 + GC + CDU + MCP + pmSys + pmInst
    By Greg Kernaghan in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-22-2006, 04:38 AM