Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Have to start somewhere

    Here are a couple of pix of the start of my GA cockpit.

    The goal is to get a triple monitor set up across the top, a 24" widescreen MIP monitor where the existing monitor is located, more radios in the stack and a GPS where the white cutout is located. Space below GPS will be for toggle switches and avionics switch. A keyed starter switch and master switch will be located to the right and below the yoke. (Alex, notice how the yoke sits out on its "perch". Needed since the "drill a hole through the monitor experiment failed. )

    Maybe some day I will build/buy real gauges and install the yoke in its proper place.

    All possible due to the inspiration of those on this forum and the support of many when I started asking my rookie questions. You can be sure they will be many more.

    Cheers,
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by colt45 View Post
    You can be sure they will be many more.
    Ask away, it's what we're here for.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another question

    BHawthorne,

    I will take you up on that offer. I sense that you are a hardware guru here, especially when it comes to video cards. Can you please have a look at another thread I have going

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=15338

    and offer your thoughts. Much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Dave

    You might want to open up the area where your computer is sitting. Your case fans are going to have a hard time circulating air with the side vents covered up like that.

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I never have figured out why case manufacturers don't mount exhaust fans in the top of the case.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Vent Holes

    Thanks for the suggestion Shawn. Actually I have drilled a series of holes in the board to the left of the CPU (they just show up in the first pic if you look really close) in exactly the same location as the holes in the side of the actual case. As well the whole back of the "desk" is open. If I sense that things are starting to heat up in the case I will consider opening it up more for circulation.

    Cheers, Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Tony Hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South West, Western Australia
    Posts
    253
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice start...and nice to see another GA pit comming on line.



    .
    "Tony"

    In memory of Flt Lt Tony Hill who, on 5 December 1941, at the request of Doctor R V Jones, successfully photographed a small "Würzburg radar" at Bruneval on the French coast. This from a height of only 200 ft, at high speed, under fire and from a camera mounted obliquely behind the cockpit.

Similar Threads

  1. 737 Start Up
    By mounty in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2009, 09:48 PM
  2. eng start with pm sys
    By David Withers in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-12-2008, 11:58 AM
  3. Where to start
    By craiso in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 06:03 PM
  4. where dio i start
    By seristee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 03:39 PM
  5. How to start?
    By RobertoR in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 11:28 PM