Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Problems with Install of Second Video Card

    I have been trying all morning to install a second video card in my system. I continue to get a BSOD with the error message

    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_ AREA ; STOP: 0X00000050

    I have an ASUS P5Q mobo with a Geforce 9800GT installed already. I am trying to install a GeForce 6200LE to eventually hook up a PSOne screen for a GPS I am working on. Both cards are PCIe versions. I have the 11.8206 WHQL drivers newly installed which according to 3dguru.com should be compatible with both of these cards.

    I did a Google search on the error message and a Microsoft KB article says one of the possible causes is faulty hardware. Whenever I uninstall the 6200 LE card everything works fine so it appears it is the likely culprit. However, since it was purchased "as is" off Ebay my chances of a refund or replacement are unlikely (I have asked seller and await a response).

    Anyone have any ideas of what may cause this problem assuming the card is OK?

    Many thanks, Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Have you tried to install the 6200 without the 9800 fitted to see if it ok.
    Les

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member airbus319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Press F8 when windows is starting up and slelct VGA safe mode then press enter once the pc has fully started up reboot. it may be that windows is just gettings it's knickers in a twist

    hope this helps

    David.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    iwik, I will try the 6200 on its own to see if that works

    David, I have booted in Safe Mode and no joy.

    Thanks for the thoughts guys.

    Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Update

    Well here is an update:

    - took the 9800 out of PCIe-1 slot and installed the 6200 ; no problems, booted up and no errors
    - turned off computer and installed the 9800 in the PCIe-2 slot and booted up no problems, monitor still connected to 6200
    - turned off computer and connected monitor to 9800, nothing but darkness on monitor
    - turned off computer and reconnected monitor to 6200, no problems
    - turned off computer disconnected both cards and reinstalled 9800 in PCIe-1 slot and connected monitor ; no problems

    Starting to look like the PCIe-2 slot may be a problem, The oddity is that when I connect the 9800 to it I don't get the original error I was getting but I don't get anything on the monitor showing up.


    We will keep plugging on this.
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I continue to research this issue throughout various forums, discussion boards, etc on the Internet. Found some posts at flightsim.com (albeit dated from 2007) this morning which suggest what I am trying to do is not possible with an 8800 video card, which I find difficult to believe. I understand that my 9800 card is a close cousin of the 8800 card.

    Can anyone confirm that they have a set up using dual video cards (non SLI or Crossfire) working with cards similar to or the same as the 8800/9800? Even better for my research if you have this running on an Asus motherboard.

    Thanks in advance, Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mine are ATI cards, but both get along well in the same computer.

    I've never used anything but ATI based cards so that's all I have experience using.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the input Michael. It's strange but the one thread I found on his suggested the problem occurs specifically with the nvidia 8800 card. Just doesn't make sense to me.

    I remember in my old setup which had an AGP and pci card installed, you had to go into the BIOS to set the order in which the cards were initialized. Took me forever to find that little trick on web searches. I have gone through the BIOS for my present set up looking for a similar setting but no luck so far.

    Cheers
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    30
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dave as far as I am aware you have to use the same series card or you will run into all sorts of errors. I have a 8800GTX and a 8600GT and they work perfectly. 6 Monitors in all. 8800GTX = TH2Go + 1 other monitor. 8600GT + 2 monitors.

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I hope that's for Invidia only. I'm running two different series ATI cards that run fine.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Big Problems - OC LCD Card
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 09:49 PM
  2. Video Card For FSX
    By stepbk in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 09:31 AM
  3. USBkeys card problems
    By Georg Schneider in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2008, 02:55 PM
  4. PMDG Patch install problems
    By Peter Hein in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2006, 03:28 AM
  5. Re: PMDG Patch install problems
    By francisco silva in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2006, 10:50 PM