Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

multi (5/6) monitor setup, please advice

Hello,

I'm a newbie in this forum so I introduce myself:

I'm an enthousiastic FS9 flightsimmer for 4 years, flying mostly PMDG747 LevelD767 and Fokker F70/100. Since two years I also fly in a network.
    Last year, I visited the FSweekend in Lelystad and had the oppertunity to get a "ride" on a 3DOF platform. It was fantastic !

Now I'm going to build a cockpit on a 3DOF platform and I need a good advice for the monitor setup. I've read some threads in this forum about multi monitor, every thread has its pro and cons and for me (as newbie) its difficult to decide whats the best system to use. I prefer to have a no-nonsense system with normal FPS and a good video resolution. I used to operate the plane with the mouse and a yoke + throttle so easy control with the mouse of the buttons and swiches is important.

I would like to built a setup with 5 or 6 monitors, all monitors are LCDs, have 1280x1024 resolution and a DVI input.

setup:
    3 x 17 inch : outside view
    1or2 x 17/19 inch : panel view, FMC, FSnavigator etc.
    1 x 17/19 inch : overhead panel view

The PC with FS on it will probably a new one with quadcore or better performance.

My questions are:
    - Has somebody built a similar setup already, experience ? , components used ?

- What is the best: 1xgraphiccard + 2xTH2G dig or 3x graphics cards with dual output ?

Please reference to important issues regarding XP/Vista and FS9/FSX related to the setup. I prefer to use FSX and Vista for the new system.

(issues I have already noticed in the forum: span screens in Vista, multi screen limit = 4 in FSX)

Regards,
    Herman

500+ This must be a daytime job