Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Grand Blanc MI
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Need for Multiple Computers??

    Could someone explain why alot of people use multiple computers for the MCP displays. It seems like 1 decent computer should be able to handle running all the displays ( ie.. pilot/co-pilot PFD, EICAS, CDU's) with project magenta. Is there something Im missing here or is it just too much for one computer to handle? thanks

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I'm running on one system and I know Gwyn is too. But we don't use PM either.

    I may resort to another computer to use WidevieW for outside displays.

    I have one video port left and I'm going to see if I can squeeze another monitor out of this computer. Hopefully, that's going to get used up by a WX radar display.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The simple answer is yes/no/maybe but not necessarily in that order.

    If you use FS9 then you can most likely get most everything running on one machine, especially if its a new one with lots of muscle.

    If you run FSX, then chances are you will want to add another machine or two.

    Now this factors in how old your machine is, how much RAM, and other hardware issues, software, how its configured, and a whole host of other things like what kind of plane, how real is it.... Does it have WX Radar... ()
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    One is always hoping!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Grand Blanc MI
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So what kind of computers would you need to run the displays if you did split it up? Seems like you should be able to get away with less expensive computers for the displays.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by trauma2005 View Post
    So what kind of computers would you need to run the displays if you did split it up? Seems like you should be able to get away with less expensive computers for the displays.

    When I was running PM for a 737 I used a 1.2 Celeron and a 256Mb video card. Worked just fine. Because they were only running the ECAIS & FO not much power needed.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

Similar Threads

  1. Tutorial for fs2004 on multiple computers?
    By orwell84 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 08:11 PM
  2. Using Multiple joysticks on networked Computers
    By ak49er in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 10:11 PM
  3. vasFMC on multiple computers
    By mnovak22 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 05:38 PM
  4. FSX registration on multiple computers
    By mnovak22 in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 05:23 PM
  5. Multiple Computers
    By rotorxtcy in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 08:40 PM