Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Video Improvement

    Since adding the additional video card to my FS system, the graphics have improved dramatically.

    I used the driver disc that came with the new card. Upon loading it, it removed the old ATI drivers that the X1950 GT was running with.

    Now with no settings changed, the graphics have really gotten much better. Even at FL altitudes you can still make out cities and towns, roads, and the landscape patchwork is clearer and sharper.

    In addition to the better graphics, the frame rate remained the same with no hit at all.

    Can new drivers really do all of that?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stafford, UK
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    They most certaintly can!
    New drivers can improve the efficiency and open up locked parts of a card.

    You may also find now that you can get a little bit more from the card without lowering frame rates.

    Unfortunately this means you will have to tweak your display settings to get a new ballance.

    I remember when I had a GeForce 4, they upgraded the drivers to enhance texture handling and shading. I found I could move my textures slider from about mid to Max without changing the frame rate because the better drivers could take it in their stride.

    Tom.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The settings on the card were already maxed out in every catagory. That's what the eye-popping was about. I hadn't changed a thing and it looks so much better.

    What sort of parts of the card could be unlocked or used that weren't being used before?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    New drivers change the way the card handels textures and floating point math and all the chip set commands. Can make a huge differance.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It sure did!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stafford, UK
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    What sort of parts of the card could be unlocked or used that weren't being used before?
    I believe that sometimes there are extra pixel shaders and pipelines etc that may not be available due to compatability with some drivers, so new drivers allow these to be used. Also note that most GPUs in a specific series (ie GeForce 9) will all have the same core. NVidia will turn a few parts off make them the cheaper models.

    Same for Intel processors. Most CPUs in a series (ie Core i7) will be the same die, but with different parts disabled (usually by blowing tiny fuses so you cant unlock these!). This keeps production costs low as they only ever have to make 1 die instead of 10 different designs.

    Tom

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's interesting to read.

    So my E4400 could be a completely different processor with subtle on-die changes that can't be made but are there?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    In your case I would bet that the cd that came with the card was the current version when the card shipped. What is on most web support sites is an updated version that is not normally driven by customers, rather internal company testing. So what I always do is the clean install (remove all drivers and ancilary programs) from the supplied cd, configure it and look for any issues. I don't jump on the "Hey there are new drivers for XXX out, anyone tried them?" band wagon, rather I do look at the change notice to see if the issue I'm having has been fixed by the latest driver. If so it gets loaded and I don't look back. But it is always good to hear the simplicity of the way things should work, as not everyone has the same set-up.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm very pleased with the way things look now. I was pleased with the way things looked before too, but didn't realize they could get any better.

    I'll just leave it as it is for now until I buy the next video card.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    117
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    does anyone know where i can find the latest driver update for the Geforce 8800 GTS ? i bought the card in 2007 and never updated this. Maybe an update will improve framerates.
    Phil.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Latest Posts" ... would this be an improvement, or no?
    By deering in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2010, 08:26 PM
  2. 747 video
    By Joe Cygan in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-23-2009, 04:09 AM
  3. HI I need video
    By catherinewilson in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 05:20 PM
  4. More Video
    By Shamrock224 in forum MyCockpit Online Flying Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 02:41 AM