Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Steering tiller

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Steering tiller

    Hi fellow simmers,
    I'm having a great difficulty trying to assign a tiller (10K pot) to FSUIPC. I'm using Phidgets 8/8/8 card and Alan's great FS2Phidgets software. In FS2Phidgets software I can calibrate and assign the same (10K pot) to an FS variable like (Rudder control), but when I go to FSUIPC software to assign an axis to the same pot, FSUIPC dose not recognizes the axis at all! I have noticed that non of my phidgets analog inputs are recognized by FSUIPC. What am I missing here?
    Thank you,
    Phil
    Window XP PRO SP3
    FSX, SP1 Acecclaration
    FSUIPC 4.152
    FS2Phidgets 4.3.7
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Don't you have to use the rescan button to assign an axis in FSUIPC if an axis is not set up in FS? Move the axis to confirm in fact it is the correct one (axis values will increase/decrease as you move the axis/pot).

    Check this out http://fsuipc.simflight.com/beta/CH_...ith_FSUIPC.pdf
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My problem is that FSUIPC dose not recognize the 8/8/8 Phidget board as a joystick, therefore, the movement of any analog inputs are not registered and not recognized in FSUIPC software.
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rudder

    hi phil......
    the Steering Tilller is an 'internal' FSUIPC refinement which Pete included with the program. i believe that FSUIPC will only see your axis if it is input via the windows joystick routines which is reading joystick axes only.
    so, my best guess is that FSUIPC is not seeing your axis because it is being delivered by another method (the 8/8/8 board )
    i had a similar issue when trying to deliver axes thru the CPFlight MCPEX1 board. so threw in the towel and put all axes onto BU0836X boards which i can assign and calibrate in FSUIPC.
    or maybe you can sweet talk Alan into writing something similar into FS2Phidgets.
    good luck anyway.... regards ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ian,
    Thank you for the info, I was hoping that I don't have to go that route, but if all fails I have no choice to change my setup and use another joystick board. Can I use a 10K pot with BU0836X board?
    Cheers
    Phil
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    10k Pot

    hi phil,
    absolutely no problem with 10k pots. i have a mixture of 10k and 100k pots and as long as you calibrate the axes in the windows control panel before going into FSUIPC, i never get an issue. cracking piece of kit and as well as your axes, it will allow you 32 more inputs for switches, pushbuttons and encoders which again you can assign (or record macro's for) in FSUIPC.
    good luck captain ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  7. Thanks Philb737 thanked for this post
  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you Ian! I will definitely keep that option open.
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  9. #8
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Phil,

    I think you mean that Windows does not see Phidgets as a joystick.
    Mainly, because it is not a joystick.
    FSUIPC talks to the Windows Joystick component .
    Joystick vendors write drivers to interface their hardware with joystick component of Windows.

    FS2Phidget can send any analog value to any FSUIPC offset.
    Whether it will do anything useful depends on the offset.
    Offset you mention is really two offsets that do two different things.

    It appears from a brief glance that one offset is the value for a the control.
    The other offset is the type of control.
    I am not familiar with that offset.

    You could try:
    - assigning the analog Phidget to the Value portion of the offset.
    - Assign a switch to the other portion - the switch would send appropriate value when switch is on (or off, for that matter).

    Two offsets -> Two functions -> Two devices

    Regards,
    Alan
    Last edited by CocnutAir; 02-19-2009 at 02:04 AM.

  10. Thanks Philb737 thanked for this post
  11. #9
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Phil,

    I got around this glitch mechanically by having the Tiller & Rudder pot combined. The drive from my pedals rotates the pot shaft and the Tiller rotates the pot housing - too easy!!!




    Another method to consider!!!
    Regards, Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  12. Thanks Philb737 thanked for this post
  13. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you Alan and Gwyn,
    Alan, I will try what you suggested and post my findings! Gwyn, how dose the rudder paddles rotates the pot shaft? The tiller to pot shaft is very clear, I see a second pulley and a cable going down to the rudder mechanism, how is the second pulley attached to the rudder mechanism? Is there a third pulley on a crank?
    Best regards,
    Phil
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FSUIPC Steering Tiller
    By ADW in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 03:48 PM
  2. First Officer Steering Tiller
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 03:11 AM
  3. 737NG Steering Tiller
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 08:48 AM
  4. PnP 737NG steering tiller?
    By ChrisKLAS in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 04:42 AM
  5. 737 Steering Tiller (again)
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2008, 03:36 AM