Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St-Jerome, Qc
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Possible layout?

    Since i am waiting to move before starting my cockpit...(july) ... that forces me to plan... and re-plan...

    So i am asking myself this...

    for frontal view...

    is a layout like my sketch possible or should i start thinking about another one...




    PS: i plan to build a CRJ-700

  2. #2
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's certainly do-able
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St-Jerome, Qc
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok... great...

    How? LOL!!!

    I mean, can i set i wide angle to monitor 2 and narrower to 1 and 3?

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think you might get some trouble with that setup.

    If the resolution on projector is tha same as on the LCD screen thats not the problem. Problem is the zoom on the projector vs lcd.

    The projector will in this example make a big picture but the lcd will make a small picture. So you probably have to zoom the projector to a different setting (within FS), than the lcd screens. Then you have to undock the views and get the well known frame rate hit. But if you have a high end computer, it might also work out.

    The ideal would of course be three identic projectors, but sure you know that

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St-Jerome, Qc
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    @ivar

    Yea you are right... that would be best...

    what i am trying to do is lower the cost as much as possible and at the same time lower the width needed for the cockpit...

    My last plan would be to use only LCDs but i beleive i would need 4 and i am stuck with the centered line for side by side... monitors...

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St-Jerome, Qc
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Additionnal question:

    Is that setup possible also with X-Plane?

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not sure about x-plane setup. Someone else jump in.

    Have you already bought the projector?

    If not, there are ways to get projection for cheap money. Build them yourself. Sure it is a challenge, but people have done that before. The absolute cheapest way would be to use three lcd screens and three "overhead`s" from a school or similar. Check the video below. Probably some more work than the 3,5 minutes on the video, lol.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7lWqKHpGuc

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    St-Jerome, Qc
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not not purchased it yet!!

    i'll be sure to check this video... thanks

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It is probably not what you want, cause I guess it can be difficult to get the distance from lcd to overhead-glass correct. And it is important to have cooling in between there. Or the lcd will fry.

    But I just like the idea because it is so simple and you get high resolution projector for small pennys

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie PDT 200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, NC
    Posts
    160
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    From what I've read on the X-Plane forum is it takes multiple computers for multiple views. I have not read where the various screens are undockable and can be moved around. I'm running 3 projectors and 3 monitors on 2 video cards with 4 outputs. PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe X-Plane supports that on a single computer without massive frame rate loss.
    Regards
    Brian
    FS9 & FSX ERJ-145, E-170, E-190, PIC737, Archer, Arrow, GF-MCPPRO, EFIS, 4GF-P8, 4GFT8, 3GF-166, 3GF-RP48, GF-LGT, GF-ATC, GF-TQ6, 3 Projectors, 5 monitors 1 computer

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 737 overhead layout
    By dmoblay in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 01:15 PM
  2. Layout of the FMC tutorial
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 06:59 PM
  3. Layout change
    By mpl330 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 09:16 AM
  4. MIP Layout
    By JSpahn in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-15-2008, 09:31 AM