Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Engine Gauges make the panel almost complete!

    Well, after more hair-pulling I've managed to integrate the Probst 727 engine gauges into the Dreamfleet 727 with pretty good results.

    This is going to seem strange looking down at the instruments instead of up.

    I'm still having an intermittent problem with the gauges disappearing. I'm not sure why they do that. I have a solution that I'm going to use if it keeps doing that.

    I guess I can pretty much count out having any flap gauges, real or on a monitor.

    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Fantastic. That's the pic we've all been waiting for, for many many months now. And to see those rhetched holes filed has calmed my imaginary OCD

    I'm nearly as proud of your sim as you are. And i don't even own it. LOL

    Keep up the great work mike
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes Yes and Yes!! fantastic, at last the holes are filled !! Will you be making the bezels that go round them?

    Such a sweet setup, well done

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member Polmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    141
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Your MIP looks fantastic with the new addition.

    Let us know if you find a solution to your gauges disappearing.

    ~Polmer

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys! No one is happier to see those holes filled than me!

    The gauge bezels have been finished for six months now. Except for the EPR bezels. I have to make three of those. The rest I'll install tomorrow after a having a few rounds of self congratulatory Paulaner tonight!

    I just finished a three-round hop around Heathrow airplane patch. The gauges are smooth with no jerking or lag, but I noticed my EGT gauges don't work. Well, I was warned that the gauges may not function properly if used with another aircraft other than Richard Probst's or Mike Stone's.

    I'm not too worried about it as I don't pay much attention to it anyway.

    The fuel flow gauge has more area than I first imagined that it would on this monitor. I didn't think I would see any more than the top third, but I got 3/4th's out of it.

    There is absolutely no frame rate hit at all with the second video card and third monitor running on the FS system. I couldn't be happier with the way things worked out.

    The gauges have not disappeared at all tonight like they did last night. I think a defrag with O&O fixed that. I had panel files, bitmaps, configuration files, and .gau files all over the FS folder before I got this to work. And I was copying and pasting quite a bit until I did get it working.

    There is joy in 727 land tonight!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Tony Hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South West, Western Australia
    Posts
    253
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looking great. there is nothing like having the gauges in the panel rather than looking at the VC or 2d on screen!


    .
    "Tony"

    In memory of Flt Lt Tony Hill who, on 5 December 1941, at the request of Doctor R V Jones, successfully photographed a small "Würzburg radar" at Bruneval on the French coast. This from a height of only 200 ft, at high speed, under fire and from a camera mounted obliquely behind the cockpit.

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's exactly what I've been having to do. I'd open the DF engine stack, and move the panel down low on the outside view monitor until only the EPR and N1 gauges appeared. Everytime I wanted to check my fuel flow against the EPR book value I had to move the darn thing back up.

    I sure hope Joe checks in here soon.

    I've decided to just cut a couple of flap gauge panels out of a blown up bitmap and stick them into a bezel and glue them to the panel. There's no hope of ever having the real things working, but that's a small compromise for what I have.

    During the build I've only lost three indicators that weren't wired anyway and two gauges.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks real nice Michael. Now don't forget to update your sig pic.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah. I have to get the "Money shot" soon!

    How's your's coming along?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Two nights ago the gauges disappeared (except for the EPR bug knobs) halfway to Munich. This was about a 1.8 flight. It occured when I brought up the radio panel pop-up and made a frequency change.

    Last night I flew over a two hour flight and they all stayed. Nothing funny happened with them. I was opening panels, flipping switches, rotating knobs, sometimes in rapid sequence, but still they didn't disappear.

    I still can't figure out why it does this. I have, in the past experienced other DF gauges blanking out temporarily on the engineer's panel which has not been altered in any way. When I switch to an outside view this usually fixes it. I didn't think to try it out on the engine stack two nights ago.

    It's as though the FS aircraft panel file forgets where the bitmaps are.

    Oh well. Maybe it will occur less and less as I fly it more and more.

    Difficult to set power based on speed, pitch, and engine sound.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Beech Baron Engine gauges?
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 07:13 PM
  2. Engine Gauges
    By mach7 in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 02:32 PM
  3. How does one make gauges?
    By Crescent in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-05-2009, 07:08 AM
  4. Mechanical engine gauges
    By mach7 in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2009, 08:25 PM
  5. How to show only 2 gauges in engine page
    By Tony in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 08:32 AM