Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    WIN 7 beta Multicores

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Prof Bill
    If you are running dual or quad core processors you need to ensure they are configured to open up in VISTA .
    I recently checked all my VISTA systems and those of others and found in all cases that VISTA by default configures one processor.

    To check your VISTA system go to RUN.

    Use the MS LOGO key between Ctrl and Alt whilst pressing it simultaneously press R and type in msconfig.
    Beneath the BOOT tab choose Advanced.
    You will be given the option in that window to tell the OS how many processors you are running. Tick the appropriate box.
    By default you will most probably find it is set to one. On closure you will be asked to reboot.
    You will find that after reboot VISTA will be configured to utilise all your processor power.



    Bill

    It would appear that in the WIN 7 Beta release that the default number of processors is set to one processor not four.
    To change to four processors repeat the steps that were outlined above for VISTA. Do not be tempted to alter or tick the memory box as WIN 7 seems to automatically do its own allocation. Some more investigation needs to be carried out here to fully understand how best to optimise memory.

    I am really pleased with what I have experienced with WIN 7 Beta to date in terms of performance improvement.

    Bill.

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bill, I too am so pleased with WIN 7. Thank you for your continued added comments.

    BTW, Does DX10 work with WIN 7, I've got the 64 bit version?

    Matt Olieman

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Olieman View Post
    Hi Bill, I too am so pleased with WIN 7. Thank you for your continued added comments.

    BTW, Does DX10 work with WIN 7, I've got the 64 bit version?

    Matt Olieman
    Hi Matt, my experiences are with the 32 bit version and that works well with DX10 and believe it or not it also works with DX11 that seemed to arrive on a couple of my WIN 7 Beta machines earlier in the week!


    Bill.

  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Bill

    I just read in another forum that DX 11 is automaticly installed with WIN 7. Can anyone confirm that and how can I check my system to see if it's installed?

    Thanks,
    Matt Olieman

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    at the run command in windows.

    Type dxdiag and hit enter..

    There you will see your version.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I've got DirectX 11 in WIN 7 64 bit

    Matt Olieman

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Matt and Trevor!

    I had one or two of the very early pre release versions on a couple of experimental systems and as a result of your correspondence have now updated them! I had better start improving my system housekeeping!

    Have a look at the last page of the enclosed link to The Royal Academy of Engineering Winter 2008

    http://www.raeng.org.uk/about/fellow..._News_2008.pdf

    The pilot Fred Brooks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Brooks and I go back a long way. He is one of the great old men of computing!

    You might enjoy it!

    Bill.

  9. #8
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Quit Impressive Prof. Bill :)

    Quote Originally Posted by Prof Bill View Post
    Thanks Matt and Trevor!
    Have a look at the last page of the enclosed link to The Royal Academy of Engineering Winter 2008

    http://www.raeng.org.uk/about/fellow..._News_2008.pdf

    The pilot Fred Brooks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Brooks and I go back a long way. He is one of the great old men of computing!

    You might enjoy it!

    Bill.
    I certainly DID enjoy it, and am quite impressed with the write up you got. Your sim in action.

    Congratulations Professor on a job well done

    and btw, thanks for sharing that bit with us

    Matt Olieman

  10. Thanks Prof Bill thanked for this post
  11. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Prof Bill View Post
    Have a look at the last page of the enclosed link to The Royal Academy of Engineering Winter 2008

    The pilot Fred Brooks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Brooks and I go back a long way. He is one of the great old men of computing!
    I can't help noticing that wine glasses feature prominently in many pictures I have seen of your rig. I presume this is merely to enable the motion jacks to be properly levelled

    As for the pilot Fred Brooks, a copy his book The Mythical Man-Month is right behind me as I type (Executive Summary: doubling the number of software engineers does not halve the project completion time - now why does that make me think of MSFS and X-Plane?).

    Thanks for the interesting post.

    --
    Bryn


  12. Thanks Prof Bill thanked for this post
  13. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    WIN 7 Release

    The following "gossip" seems to be circulating regarding the release of WIN 7 later this year!

    As the release of Windows 7 grows nearer, Microsoft is expected to offer coupons with Windows Vista sales, to allow people to upgrade to Windows 7 for free at its launch.

    It would be most helpful to many if it had any credence and also if it applied retrospectively to current VISTA users!

    Nevertheless it seems at variance with recent Microsoft announcements that suggest a strategy for improving VISTA as suggested by the link below.

    http://www.insidetech.com/news/artic...ferral=IT_nlet

    Does anyone have further enlightenment on the matter?

    Bill.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 Beta is gone, well almost
    By Matt Olieman in forum Microsoft Windows 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 04:09 PM
  2. WIN 7 pre beta
    By Prof Bill in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-10-2009, 09:54 AM
  3. Tileproxy beta 7
    By DAL900 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 01:17 PM
  4. Configuring your Multicores in VISTA
    By Prof Bill in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2008, 02:14 PM
  5. Problem with new Beta
    By Jan Pemöller in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-17-2006, 09:41 AM