Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How many video outputs?

    Hello experts!
    Can anyone tell me from their experience, can I have a TV out and TWO monitor outputs at the same time on the same card? Failing that, could I get a separate TV card and undock windows to that card, while still having both monitor outputs from the 'main' graphics card? I think I saw somewhere here that the first option does not work.....hopefully the second one will!

    Thanks in advance guys,
    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie PDT 200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, NC
    Posts
    160
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I haven't tried that but I seem to recall that when you select dual monitors the TV out is disabled. I use 3 video cards and 5 outputs. In windowed mode all undocked views will stay on the monitors just fine, however when I go to full screen mode I only have 4 of the outputs seen by FS9. The fifth with whatever is undocked goes to another screen. I'm using only 1 PC and NVidia cards.
    Regards,
    Brian
    FS9 & FSX ERJ-145, E-170, E-190, PIC737, Archer, Arrow, GF-MCPPRO, EFIS, 4GF-P8, 4GFT8, 3GF-166, 3GF-RP48, GF-LGT, GF-ATC, GF-TQ6, 3 Projectors, 5 monitors 1 computer

  3. Thanks NigelD thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Video cards only allow for 2 outputs per card regardless of plug type. So, 2 DVI or a DVI and a s-video/component out. Just get another card to run the tv out.

  5. Thanks NigelD thanked for this post
  6. #4
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sorted

    Thanks for the replies, guys. That both answers my question and solves my problem. And extra TV card should not break the back I think!

    The project moves forward another teeny step....

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Preston, UK
    Posts
    37
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nigel,

    I dont want to sound like im taking the pi** but its not a tv card you want, but a video card with tv out.. just so you are sure

    Chris

  8. #6
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by MrRoper View Post
    Nigel,

    I dont want to sound like im taking the pi** but its not a tv card you want, but a video card with tv out.. just so you are sure

    Chris

    I agree and would be the best solution. You can get some old cheap ones

    Matt Olieman

  9. #7
    25+ Posting Member weyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think that if your video card has a TV out connector then you could connect both monitors to a matrox dualhead2ToGo. In this way both monitors are connected to one DVI and if connecting the TVOut disconnects the second DVI this would have no impact for you.

  10. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by weyes View Post
    I think that if your video card has a TV out connector then you could connect both monitors to a matrox dualhead2ToGo. In this way both monitors are connected to one DVI and if connecting the TVOut disconnects the second DVI this would have no impact for you.
    True, but the DH2G is a bit more expensive than just picking up another video card.

    That being said, I do have 2 Digital DualHead2Go that I will probably be selling soon on ebay.

  11. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How many video outputs?

    how do you get two video cards onto one motherboard? can you specify the model and brand of the graphic card and motherboard?

    Thanks
    Mehdi

  12. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How many video outputs?

    Quote Originally Posted by mabderezai View Post
    how do you get two video cards onto one motherboard? can you specify the model and brand of the graphic card and motherboard?

    Thanks
    Any motherboard with multiple 16x PCI Express 2.0 mechanical slots. They are typically refered to as SLI or CrossFire capable motherboards. My particular motherboard has 4 Geforce GTX260 video cards in it. There are versions of motherboards that allow up to 7 video cards to be installed. The ASUS P6T7 WS and the EVGA 4X X58 Classified are the best of class in that category. 3 and 4 slot video card capable motherboards are quite common nowadays, although they do come with a price premium, as they are typically workstation or entheusiast class hardware.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Outputs doesn't seem to be right - opencockpits iocards
    By archen in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 11:12 AM
  2. USB Outputs not recognized - Please Help
    By XOrionFE in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2008, 04:16 PM
  3. Oc master 64 outputs???
    By shafian in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-12-2008, 08:47 AM
  4. Outputs to CDU
    By Bill in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2008, 11:16 AM
  5. Outputs Needed
    By 767300 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 04:50 PM