Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ebay Toggle Switches?

    Has anyone had any experience with the toggle switches being sold on Ebay from Hong Kong/China? My biggest concern is if they contain lead. Mind you, isn't everything made in China now anyways?
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Lol. Yes, it seems its either China or one of its neighbors. The supposed problem is that companies that have production done in Asia enforce much stricter quality controls in the production process than do local companies producing for themselves. But occasionally you get the same product for less.
    I wanted to get a USB audio splitter to separate ATC and the flight sim when flying (remember that, guys?) and ordered from a company in Hong Kong (off eBay) just to save a little cash. I got the product but there was too much interference in the audio, lots of static noise so I contacted them and they refunded me the payment. However, I've also had good buying experiences with various companies direct or through eBay as well so I guess its a bit of research and a bit of luck/fortune/what-have-you.

  3. Thanks autocadplease thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Toggle Switches

    g'day chaps........
    i have bought encoders, led's and switches from this guy on ebay.
    cheap and the service is good.
    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Sure-Electronics
    i'm not a forensic chemist so i can't comment on the lead, but he sure (excuse the pun)
    is cheap and reliable.
    his amber led's are excellent and he chucks in the resistors for free as well.
    hope that helps you out.
    regards from the welsh borders...... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  5. Thanks autocadplease thanked for this post
  6. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario
    Posts
    76
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by autocadplease View Post
    Has anyone had any experience with the toggle switches being sold on Ebay from Hong Kong/China? My biggest concern is if they contain lead. Mind you, isn't everything made in China now anyways?
    Well, actually, to be totally non-PC here, that concern doesn't impinge on my consciousness even slightly. I'm 64, fit & healthy (although I probably drink too much ) and I'm a lead user.

    And I've just taken another load of Pb solder from eBay because that's what I use. And will always use. And always have used. So if a switch I want has lead in it, see if I care.

    What gets me about all this RoHS stuff is that we're actually returning the lead to where we got it from when we dispose of it. And if the disposal sites are too close to populations for safety, then that is not, I submit, a fault of the lead.

    Everyone knows that lead is poisonous, therefore nowwdays we don't have it in our water pipes any more because of that. But I use probably 2oz of Pb in the solder I use, annually, and that is simply not an environmental concern. And the quantity of lead in a freaking switch is just , well, you know.

  7. Thanks dnoize, autocadplease, Jackpilot thanked for this post
  8. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Joe Lavery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi All,

    Like my learned friend Ian, I have also bought hundreds of LEDs and switches from Sure Electronics in China. Never a problem, quick delivery and cheap.
    Not sure about the lead content but I too use lead solder and always have....
    Ho Hum.

    Regards

    Joe.

  9. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Switches...

    http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/forsale/forsale.html

    In this section, I believe near the bottom, they have switches from actual aircraft in bags. There is no telling what you get, but they are certainly nice to have.

    go to angelfire.com also, because they have many other interesting pics.
    Elliot

  10. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    More...

    http://www.angelfire.com/il2/aphs/steal/steal.html

    Here is the switches link with more deals...
    Elliot

  11. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Joe Lavery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Switches

    Hi Elliot, I was aware of The Arline Pilots Historical Society but to be honest the switches sold in those Goodie Bags are not really worth the money.
    You can buy brand new large toggle switches from Rapid for 60P, admittedly thye're not aircraft quality but difficult to tell when mounted in a panel. The miniature toggle switches are even cheaper from Sure Electronics in China.

    However as you say they do have some very interesting bits and pieces, pity they don't sell the landing light switches for that sort of money. They're asking $40 each for those.
    Regards

    Joe.

  12. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah...

    Yeah, I never bought from them but it is good that they are actually reputable and have good stuff...

    Thanks,
    Elliot
    Elliot

  13. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Lavery View Post
    the switches sold in those Goodie Bags are not really worth the money.
    You can buy brand new large toggle switches from Rapid for 60P, admittedly thye're not aircraft quality but difficult to tell when mounted in a panel.
    Joe.

    Just flip them on and off and you will know which one is "aircraft quality"...two worlds!!
    Even the "click" is different!
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX
    By JohnKnox in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 12:51 AM
  2. toggle switches to fs9
    By smartarze in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 05:43 PM
  3. Toggle Switches
    By colaboy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-2008, 07:40 AM
  4. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 10:58 AM
  5. Latching toggle switches
    By Westozy in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 07:24 PM