Header MyCockpit
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DX10 for win XP

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    DX10 for win XP

    For the ones of you that have a DX10 capable video card and still using win-XP, you should absolutely try the link below. You will get some kind of directX-10 capability with your XP. A lot of the guys at FS.no have tried this and the results are great. But set a restore point in windows first for your safety

    Wish I had a DX10 card.

    download link: http://depositfiles.com/en/files/5636758

    Webpage with information and some download http://www.techmixer.com/download-directx-10-for-windows-xp/

    I am very curious about how this can affect multi screen setups with fs9.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Anyway to find out if your card can handle DX10?

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Manufacturers web-site is a good start for checking that. But with Nvidia, I think it is all cards starting with 8500 and newer.


  4. Thanks Michael Carter, Trevor Hale thanked for this post
  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    All nVidia card, G80 and newer support DX10.

    From what I understand this hack is bogus and will break your DirectX install if you don't watch out. The guy who made it abandoned the project for lack of any meaningful progress. Are you sure the people who tried this aren't exagerating a bit?

  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well bogus or not, it sure works for lots of people I know. For fs9 for sure. But there kan be some issues with other games. This is of course not supported by microsoft. But after their vista scandal, I trust "bogus" stuff just as much as MS.

    A good friend of mine raised his FS9 FPS from stable 85 to 150-160 FPS with this. And overall much better performance in visibility and other tweaks. I will ask him to join us here and jump in if he can take his time. Btw, he is the master of FS-tweaking here in Norway.

    As I have learned, this project was started by some people that gave it up, and new guys have completed the project.

    I dont see any good reason not to try this out. But of course, precautions must be taken. Backup and stuff. Worst case, you might have to reinstall if it doesnt work. Software is always a little risk. Stuff can work good for some and not so good for others.

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You do realize that FS9 isn't a DirectX 10 title?

    Try it out, but be aware this might break functionality with other games even if it might work good with MSFS. I toyed around with that patch last year and it broke my DirectX install. I had to reinstall XP to fix it.

    I hope you can understand my scepticism, as I have personal experience with the hack and am pretty knowledgable about nVidia products.

  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Absolutely. But this still give big improvements for many people.


  9. #8
    75+ Posting Member airbus319's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I installed directx 10 on my xp32 pc last week after I was having crashing / Freezing problems in FS

    The link is here - http://www.gamesforwindows.com/en-US...rectX10-a.aspx

    I've had no problems with it, for info I am using a NVidia 8800 gts 648mb.

    Dave

  10. #9
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by BHawthorne View Post
    You do realize that FS9 isn't a DirectX 10 title?

    Try it out, but be aware this might break functionality with other games even if it might work good with MSFS. I toyed around with that patch last year and it broke my DirectX install. I had to reinstall XP to fix it.

    I hope you can understand my scepticism, as I have personal experience with the hack and am pretty knowledgable about nVidia products.
    And this is not the last years patch. It is just finalized And yes, of course I understand your sceptisism. Thats a good thing. I wish I could try this. And sure you have good skills regarding this subject. No doubt.
    Last edited by ivar hestnes; 02-04-2009 at 05:53 PM. Reason: Added some on my reply.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 will sport a DX10 "software GPU"
    By Prof Bill in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 03:59 PM