Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    portugal
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    switches and AutoHotKey. possible good solution

    Hi all,

    i am in the process of building my home cockpit and something came up when trying to visualize the work to be done.

    If I want to have a switch capable of turning on aircraft lights, for instance, at the same time as illuminate a LED, am i thinking right about the following solution:

    Get a double pole single throw, connect one pole to the keyboard interface, the other to the LED light and power supply for the led.

    Then, as it will be switched on while lights are on, i would use AutoHotKey to take advantage of the particularity that keyboards stop repeating a key even if it is still pressed, if another key is pressed.

    So, i would, for instance, program AutoHotKey to press an unused key, say "a" after the letter "l" is pressed.

    So one pole was on busy getting the LED on, while the other pole, while on as well, was not sending nothing due to the press of the "a" key right after the "l" key, that was sent by the switch.

    Help me here, am i thinking right?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Your on the right track, or you can buy an interface that allows you to turn on the lights with that switch and have an output read that the lights are on, and illuminate the led.

    Your choice.

    Your solution is the cheapest solution.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    GoFlight pushbutton or toggle modules can do that and more .
    No programming, just attach your switch wire and your led wire to the board and click on what you want to emulate
    Each board is $65 and takes eight switches and leds.
    They have radios, autopilots, gear..etc
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Similar Threads

  1. LCD Monitor(s) and Hardware solution
    By mach7 in forum LCD Monitor Solutions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 03:49 AM
  2. Cockpit Outside Vis solution please
    By tomcat78 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 10:08 PM
  3. AutoHotKey tip for button clicking
    By peterthisted in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 11:28 PM
  4. Extra video card solution
    By brynjames in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 06:50 AM
  5. TH2Go -Does anyone have a solution for this?
    By Don in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 05:49 AM