Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New from Cyprus

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    New from Cyprus

    Hello guys. Just a quick hello, I have been lurking for a while and soaking up all the great info. I am quite new to fsx and have a custom built 3 screen "cockpit" already. However the "cockpit" in question is for simracing mostly.
    I use keygetys SoftTH for my view span across 3 screens instead of triple head to go and i thought you all should know it seems the guys at softth have a new version (1.09) that is working with fsx. I am in the early testing of it and it seems the results are quite good.. I have managed to span across my three screens had a short flight but the graphics were a bit choppy and pixelated but hey its a start.

    http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=795.0

    Thanks Steve

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Steve, and thanks for the informative post.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome to MyCockpit Steve.

    Hopefully you will be able to upload some picture to the gallery of your setup. I am looking forward to watching it progress.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thankyou for the welcome guys.
    Now what i said earlier about softTH working with fsx... It seems i got it working across 3 screens a couple of times but now i'm having problems.
    Other people have it running fine, from what i have read, I think i shall give up and get a th2go.

    I'm still very much a complete novice with flight sims, But as you can see im not completely new to having a go at building something.
    My plan now is to have a projected image above and behind my three screens ( forward outside view ) and use my three screens for instrument panels.
    I'll see how i like it and then maybe start having a crack at a little generic cockpit.
    What i have now is comfortable for normal gaming, day to day computing and racing simulators. I must say i have a bass shaker installed under my seat for driving.. or at least it was for driving until i retracted the landing gear lol
    For now though i shall just keep soaking up all the fantastic build projects on here






  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I managed to get hold of a LCD projector but the vga cable is too short,and as i cant really move my pc chassis I'm a little stuck for now. Do you guys just buy longer cables?
    The steering wheel is to be stowed away and replaced with a yoke and i shall start building a custom projector screen tomorrow and mount it above and behind my tft's.

    I already have one of leo bodnars usb boards with a few momentary switches attached.

    Got to say i'm a little excited about this little project

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My computers aren't even in the same room as the sim.

    Just buy longer cables. Nice work on your auto.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok as i have said earlier i am very new to flight simming, but not a novice when it comes to getting as much realism to racing or flying as my budget and time allows.
    Now to say i have caught the bug is a massive understatement and i have to thank mostly this site for getting me hooked on cockpit building.
    I cant believe when i was reading the inlay cards that came with my copy of fsx it says something along the lines of " just google flight simulators and prepare to be amazed " Well i am blown away.
    I thought i was special having a race sim with shiftlight indicators, triple screens and bass shakers, purpose built to say the least.

    So i hooked up my projector for the outside views and immersion went up ten fold, but i am still sat in a race sim. I purchased what is probably an entry level flight yoke and throttle quadrant. The immersion went up another ten fold. For a 150 euros i think saitek have produced a brilliant product.From the attached picture you can see my outside view from the pj and my flight yoke.



    Im still sat in a race sim though and not an aircraft cockpit.

    So i have made the decision to turn my whole rig thru 90 degrees so it faces the wall and build a generic/ 737ish captain side cockpit along side the race set up.
    My plan is to try and use a pedestal in between to mount gear shifter and TQ. I have seen a few nice modules at open cockpits and Goflight and they will come as soon as i have finished building my base.
    I got a picture of a 737 and expanded it by 1000% then printed it off in a giant jigsaw.


    Once i had worked out how my 17 inch tfts would fit, i tried a test with them and a paper cut out of the captain side mip. got to say im very pleased.



    This weekend i shall use it as a stencil and cut out the shape in MDF.
    Can anyone recommend a thickness?
    Then its a case of building the casing and taking it from there.
    I shall update my progress as i complete different stages if anyone is interested

    P.s if i have posted this in the wrong section apologies and please feel free to edit

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A little update. I built the MIP and mounted it on a long desk.
    I still have shed loads of sanding, painting and finishing and hopefully next pay cheque a mcp from open cockpits will be on its way.
    The projected screen is just a test in these photos, its actually propped up on the ironing board until its mounted up on the ceiling lol.
    Loads more to do, starting with some research on what i can best use leo bodnars bu0836 for in my sim.
    Then build the pedestal






    Apologies for the rubbish quality pictures.

Similar Threads

  1. Hello from Cyprus
    By FlightSimulation-CY in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2009, 12:37 AM
  2. Cyprus Airways' Airbus fleet grows with delivery of its first A319
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM
  3. Cyprus Airways Inaugurates A330-200 services on its London route
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM