Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Adapting small LCD monitors-How to?

    Okay, Im thinking Im goin to buy a 10.4" LCD monitor for my MIP but my question to those of you that have been there/done that:

    How do you get these things connected to a standard video card output? Most of these that are reasonable are notebook pc screens. Some though are a bit more generic and usually have a S video. How well does that work, and of course, I guess it's no good if your card doesnt have an S video output.

    What's the solution here?

    thanks,
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you look on ebay and punch in 10.4" lcd screens many (especially EbayUK) come up and almost all of them have a vga input so that you havent got to worry about the s/video adaption. Its quite simple, if you have s/video output on your card and s/video input on your screen then you pretty much have a simple installation, if your looking to modify a screen to be able to connect it to vga input on your card, it will be best to check on the manafacturers website for the pinout of the screen so you can determine which wire goes to which pin on the vga connector, then theres the matter of finding suitable software to be able to adapt the lcd's screen resolution to a profile for your graphics card etc!

    There is some software available that lets you run a laptop as a second monitor but sadly ive forgot the companies name so you will have to give me a day or two to get the website! Its easy to pick up an old pentium 1 or 2 laptop on ebay for dirt cheap and just run this software on it which will enable you to run the laptop as a second monitor and all you need is a net cable so it doesnt use vga at all which is good because it enables you to use that vga port for something else!

    Also i have come across this for you, im not too sure if its any good but its worth a look!

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Lapt...o-2nd-Monitor/

    Anyway......thats a start!

    Hope this could help a little bit!

    Alex

    _________________
    AlexPilot2008

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm hoping to getting around to doing the whole laptop monitor conversion with two dead laptops that they gave away at the office once I complete my move this weekend. I also want to look into this 10.4" ordeal as well since I have a S-video out on my adapter.

    I'm wondering if all three outputs (VGA/SV/DVI) of the graphics card could be used at the same time though.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I haven't tried it, but someone here told me the S-Video won't work at the same time as the DVI and VGA. I was going to try it on my Sapphire card.

    Of course the DVI and VGA will work at the same time.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    To adapt most laptop monitors is way too $$. By the time you buy the adapter. I am going to have a place for you guys to get a few of these. I am in the middle of moving so I am a little behind on what I have intended to get done. I have spoke to the gentelman and he is willing to talk to us. Give me untill the end of next month and I should have everything worked out. If you are in need of one rigt away PM me and I will put you in touch with the place.
    Bob Reed

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Efe Cem Elci View Post

    I'm wondering if all three outputs (VGA/SV/DVI) of the graphics card could be used at the same time though.

    I have 2 different Nvidia cards in my system and they both have 2 VGA/DVI and 1 S-video. The Nvidia control panel will only allow me (for each card) to select 2 VGA/DVI monitors or 1 VGA/DVI monitor and whatever connected to the S-video port, but not all 3 together.

    Regards,
    Henry

  7. Thanks Efe Cem Elci thanked for this post
  8. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the replies so far. I know that there has to be decent priced small size LCD monitors out there, as Ive already seen some 10.4 and some 8.4 with VGA inputs on them. Finding them, and affordably, is the challenge! I agree, rigging a notebook screen to work seems to be more trouble than it's worth from what Ive seen.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  9. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Finding affordable VGA small monitors is tough. They always seem to be expensive compared to a larger monitor.

    Check e-Bay though in the 15" and under catagory. That's where I found my 12.1". Those seem to be cheaper than the smaller VGA monitors. Most of them are retired kiosk or POS monitors.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomlin View Post
    Thanks for the replies so far. I know that there has to be decent priced small size LCD monitors out there, as Ive already seen some 10.4 and some 8.4 with VGA inputs on them. Finding them, and affordably, is the challenge! I agree, rigging a notebook screen to work seems to be more trouble than it's worth from what Ive seen.
    converting a notebook screen will be more work...and probably more money

    check the uk ebay. I found a 12 inch touchscreen there for 150 euro's:

    just a few random auctions:


    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-Monitor-LCD...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-1-INDUSTRIA...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/rdp-shop-epos-...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-VGA-TFT-Tou...742.m153.l1262

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PROVIEW-12-FLA...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-1-VGA-AV-To...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DELL-12-Flatsc...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-INCH-FUJITS...1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12-TOUCH-SCREE...1%7C240%3A1318

    I listed both new and second hand ones.

    If you are not in a hurry, then wait for a bargain. sometimes i see hongkong resellers list a 10 inch for as little as 100 euros and 12 inch for 150 euros...and thats for touchscreens !

    Stef



    .
    Last edited by dnoize; 01-30-2009 at 11:51 AM. Reason: typo
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  11. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I got my 12.1" touchscreen for $61 US. Works like new including the touchscreen. I won't be using that part though.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. small monitors for ADI and HSI displays
    By mach7 in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 09:30 AM
  2. Adapting interconnect linkages for MD-80
    By Chaser in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2009, 02:30 PM
  3. Small question
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 04:04 AM
  4. Comprehensive Guide for adapting FSX
    By Tomlin in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 01:26 PM
  5. Looking for a small lcd ?
    By spitfire9 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 12:19 PM