Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How to remove VCs from flight models in FSX

    I've been trying for a very long time to find a stable, reliable way to remove the VCs (virtual cockpits) from some of my flight models in FSX.

    In FS9 this was much easier - you could open any MDL file, using a Hex Editor and change 1 digit in one line, and the VC would be removed from any model.

    However this doesn't work for FSX.

    As well as significant performance gains, removing the VC (in a cockpit context) means that you lose the persistant VC images when 'looking' to the left, right, forward left, etc, when in 2D mode in FSX.

    Tonight I found the answer by accident !

    I downloaded the time-limited trial demo of wideview (www.wideview.it)

    I installed it into my FSX PC only (my network PCs don't yet have FSX installed on them to use Wideview for what it's intended - networked views on seperate monitors / PCs).

    This places a "Wideview" entry into the "add-ons" menu within FSX.

    If you click on this, then choose "View setup", a page appears which has a tick box option in the lower right hand side which is "Remove VC from this model". If you click this box, close the page. then exit FSX and restart it, you'll find the VC has been fully removed from that airplane in FSX ! It does not affect the 2D panel, should you need this in your pit, or use it's functionality - it just takes away the VC (including from all the views ).

    It is fully reversible - you can go back in and take the tick out the box to get your VC back on that airplane.

    Awesome feature, especially in the demo - well done Wideview fellas!

    David.

    PS. Do not confuse 'Wideview' with Pete Dowson's 'WideFS' !!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member TasKiNG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    143
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for this info David, I've been wanting to remove the cockpit images from my left and right views for a while now.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I do not believe you need to install WidevieW to gain this effect.

    I think Wideview provides the option to replace the model file with what is effectively an empty model. You can do this yourself. In fact, the replacement file used to be available from the Wideview site.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    An easier way is to edit the model.cfg file for any particular model and remove the 'interior' line:

    [models]

    normal=B737_800
    //interior=B737_800_interior
    //Line above remed out to remove the interior cockpit view


    Maurice

  5. Thanks Tomlin thanked for this post
  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well now they tell us !

    No seriously guys, I never knew it was that easy.

    In that case, I'm happy to concede that that is an easier way to remove the VC.

    Rock on Tommy !!

    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi David

    Welcome back to the madness.

    Regards,
    Henry

  8. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I had the same trouble for awhile but didn't realize the VC in the 727 could be eliminated by selecting the correct cockpit to work from. There are. I think six different cockpits in the DF727. With and without VC, EFIS, -100, -200, etc.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by andarlite View Post
    Hi David

    Welcome back to the madness.

    Regards,
    Henry
    Hi Henry, great to see your still engaging in the madness !

    David.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  10. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mauriceb View Post
    An easier way is to edit the model.cfg file for any particular model and remove the 'interior' line:

    [models]

    normal=B737_800
    //interior=B737_800_interior
    //Line above remed out to remove the interior cockpit view


    Maurice
    Actually, I since discovered that this is exactly what WideView does to achieve the VC removal ! I looked at the model.cfg files for the add-ons I had processed, and Wideview has simply '//' (commented out) the 'interior' entry... (and places a 'bak' line to allow reversal.

    Funny, I wanted to have this option for so long and never knew it was that easy!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  11. #10
    25+ Posting Member totalflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Keswick, ON
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am still running FS9 and am still fairly new to this all...
    How exactly do you remove the VC in FS9

    I noticed someone posted in here that it is easy to do...

    Thanks,

    Jeff
    Jeff Carswell
    A330-343x

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66GHz
    4GB OCZ DDR2 PC1066 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L MB
    NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTO 512mb

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-23-2010, 07:02 PM
  2. Final A350 XWB design models released by Airbus today
    By tasmanet in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 11:02 PM
  3. Boeing 737-700 flight models
    By AchillesP in forum Boeing Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 07:09 AM
  4. RE: autopilot and flight models
    By Katy Pluta in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 03:13 PM
  5. autopilot and flight models
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 12:54 PM